Home » Computers » Storage Components » Optical Drives » Cd/dvd Combo Drives » PA3834U1DV2 » 9 Reviews

Toshiba Pa3834u-1dv2 Dvd-writer - External Double-layer - Dvd-ram/r/rw - 8x 8x 8x (dvd) - 24x 24x 24x (cd) - Usb (pa3834u1dv2) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 9 reviews)

33% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Non-functional on Windows 7/8

By JenniferKLMO from Undisclosed on 07/30/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product fails catastrophically on Windows machines made after 2005. No driver for it exists, it relies on the Windows GenCDROM built-in driver but crashes it often, rendering the drive useless unless the user re-installs their OS after every burn.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Complete success

By Mark from Los Angeles, California on 01/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just received this product in the mail. I got a Surface Pro 2 for Christmas and was anxious to load and play my CDs. Out of the box it worked flawlessly. It used only the one USB port on the Surface, the software loaded without a hitch. Unlike other reports I had no problem opening and closing the tray. It was easy to identify the drive in My Computer. With in 10 minutes I was listening to CDs and up loading to iTunes. This was exactly what I was looking for. As a plug and play device.... this is it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Compatible Drivers

By Still Mad from Conway, SC on 11/26/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This drive worked 1 time in the last year. I am trying to get it to work again. I called Toshiba and asked if they had a driver for this product. They said no drivers are supplied as this product is plug and play. So I plug and play and get an error Code 39 - missing or corrupt driver for this product. Without the drive, it is a little hard to reload Windows. If it was so plug and play, I would not be asking for a driver. A total waste of money and time trying to get it up on a Dell Netbook running Win XP Home Edition SP 3.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Garbage Unit

By JohnB from Alberta Canada on 10/05/2013

I have the same comments to a previous post listed below. I have 2 laptops win 7 starter and full win 8..Worked OK on win7 starter but now neither laptop will operate this drive. Indicates no drivers installed and nowhere to update over the net. What a load of GARBAGE. Going straight to the dump, no more Toshiba. I have had this Multi Drive for just about a year. It worked fine initially but for the past four months it is 'invisible' to any of my computers, laptops & desktop. Just does not work. No help seems to be available. Cannot find how to download new drivers even if that would help. Very unhappy. This must be one of the several lemons among these Multi Drives.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hopefully not typical of Toshiba

By bajanrum from Barbados on 07/21/2013

I have had this Multi Drive for just about a year. It worked fine initially but for the past four months it is 'invisible' to any of my computers, laptops & desktop. Just does not work. No help seems to be available. Cannot find how to download new drivers even if that would help. Very unhappy. This must be one of the several lemons among these Multi Drives.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still NO Win8 support!

By dlharwood from chattanooga, tn on 02/15/2013

A Toshiba rep recommended this drive to me knowing I was purchasing a Portege Ultrabook (great laptap!) with Windows 8. Now, after reading other reviews, I find out why I've wasted an hour trying to figure out why it won't work correctly, It's a nice looking drive that probably works great, but I can/t tell because of the lack of Win8 drivers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No windows 8 = returning this ASAP

By ali648 from Undisclosed on 01/12/2013

Without the windows 8 driver I will be returning this ASAP. I hope to hear from toshiba soon or else they can expect this back in the mail


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO driver for Windows 8 yet

By MicahMc from Minneapolis, MN on 12/25/2012

I can't find a driver to support playback for Toshiba's Windows 8 laptops. Nothing is on their website, nor can I find anything through Google. If Toshiba is going to advertise this as compatible, then at least list a link to where a supported driver can be downloaded for Windows 8. I'll be returning this promptly!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really nice usb DVD burner

By T-Bone from Fredericksburg, VA on 09/23/2010

Really nice burner. Bought for a netbook. The plug and play was perfect. Created my Restore and Windows Backup DVD's with no problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved