Home » PA3974U1C0K » 8 Reviews

Toshiba PA3974U-1C0K Camileo X400 Camcorder Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 8 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Not what I'd hoped it would be

By kip from Salt Lake City, Utah on 12/27/2012

Got the camera for our anniversay and was excited to use it for the holidays. I videoed my grandson's Christmas and other events and all seemed to go well. Until I tried to download it on my laptop so that I could transfer it to DVD later. Then that's when all my trouble started. I had loaded the software - then connected the usb port cable - yet, it kept telling me no device connected even though it was clearly connected. After hours of frustration and being non-user friendly my wife read the instruction book and hit the format your sd card and lost all the video we had recorded. Add to that the fact that I visited toshiba.com almost 4 times looking for troubleshooting methods to fix my download problem and you have a good picture of why I will never buy toshiba. It shouldn't be that complicated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Some good features

By jsl from CA on 12/14/2012

I see many complaints about the video being blurry from the auto-focus not working properly. I have had that problem, but can usually make it work OK. The trick seems to be to turn the camera on, open the viewfinder and have the subject framed for at least 5 seconds before recording. If I try to record immediately it is blurry. The auto-focus is not too fast. It also seems to have a problem deciding what the focus point should be sometimes. After some movement it usually will figure out what the subject is and focus OK. To avoid likely disappointment, I would advise looking at other products before buying this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really Terrible!

By jerame from las vegas, nv on 12/09/2012

All of the Camileo cameras come with an auto-focus feature that is awful. You cannot control the focus, and there's no firmware fix or anything. It goes in and out constantly and makes for ugly videos. Do not buy this camera!!!! I'm returning mine ASAP


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

blurry

By nearsighted from Undisclosed on 11/30/2012

I'm busy looking for the extra cords to put in the box to send back on warranty. Bought it for an important family event. All the video was blurry. It will not focus on anything but close up and even then it can loose focus. This must be a manufacturing error because no company would ever put this on the market. Should be good but so far, isn't.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst ever

By tj from MIAMI, FL on 07/19/2012

by far this is the worst comcorder ever built. if you want to waste your money, go ahead give it a try and buy one, make sure to keep your receipt, because you will need it. recording is horrible, high definition (HD) is awful, taking still pictures is even worst. these people better stop manufacturing bad products and focuse at what they are capable of manufacturing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Features but Video is Blurry!

By abpanman from Undisclosed on 04/19/2012

Last December I purchased the Toshiba Camileo X400. I purchased it primarily to record my son's gymastics meets. I was impressed with the features of the camera and wanted to upgrade to HD from my old mini DV camcorder. In trying out the camera I shot some handheld outdoor video in my backyard. The resulting video was exceptionally clear, colors was vibrant and I thought I had made a good choice. Then I recorded indoors at the next gymnastics meet. The camera would go in and out of focus and the resulting video was quite blurry. It was strange that even when there was little movement you can see the picture going in and out of focus. I called Toshiba support hoping it was a camera setting or user error that could be corrected. They told me it might be defective and to return it so I did. Since I really liked the camera, with the credit for the return I purchased the next model, X416. It is the exact same camera except it has 16GB of internal storage. Unfortunately this camera exhibits the same video blurriness that the X400 did. I tried several adjustments to the settings including resolution, stabilization, lighting, etc. but still the resulting video is blurry. I should add that I am using a monopod so the camera holding is very stable. I think I will be returning this camera also unless this issue can be resolved. Based on my experience I cannot recommend this camera. Although it has a great feature set, the primary function of recording HD video is not acceptable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good basic camera

By Journalist from Atlanta on 11/24/2011

Just did some initial testing after buying and not liking a Canon that was more expensive. This camera has a couple of advantages: - it records in MPEG4, which is much more compatible with nonlinear edit systems. It can be used with lighter systems then AVCHD, which is really a transport codec. - it has a great, smooth zoom that works well - handled high contrast well in my first testing - the charging via USB through either a computer or charger is a great advantage for travel - the external mic in is a necessity for my application, citizen journalism - picture quality at the highest settings (did not test the others) was great. - steady shot image stabilization worked very well - controls are simple and there aren't a lot of useless "special features" no one ever uses. Simple is good. - touch screen control works well once you get used to it. - the little light is a great idea as it adds just enough to make it usable and bump up inside shots. Overall it is a very good camera. The only need I see for an internal hard drive is backup as it is much easier to deal with an SD card for real editing. Much prefer to the Canon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good basic camera

By Journalist from Atlanta on 11/24/2011

Just did some initial testing after buying and not liking a Canon that was more expensive. This camera has a couple of advantages: - it records in MPEG4, which is much more compatible with nonlinear edit systems. It can be used with lighter systems then AVCHD, which is really a transport codec. - it has a great, smooth zoom that works well - handled high contrast well in my first testing - the charging via USB through either a computer or charger is a great advantage for travel - the external mic in is a necessity for my application, citizen journalism - picture quality at the highest settings (did not test the others) was great. - steady shot image stabilization worked very well - controls are simple and there aren't a lot of useless special features no one ever uses. Simple is good. - touch screen control works well once you get used to it. - the little light is a great idea as it adds just enough to make it usable and bump up inside shots. Overall it is a very good camera. The only need I see for an internal hard drive is backup as it is much easier to deal with an SD card for real editing. Much prefer to the Canon. On the negative side: - the simple controls are a bit arcane. Takes reading the manual to really understand. - Manual says it can be used as a webcam... which is great, but I haven't been able to figure it out yet. Doesn't like Skype on a PC or iChat on a Mac. - battery life doesn't seem to be all that hot, which is also true of the Canon. It could be better. This camera is a very good choice for my application. I can see several categories of users being very happy with it. The addition of a little bag is a bonus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved