Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » PSKA8U02600R » 46 Reviews

Toshiba Satellite S855-S5254 15.6" Notebook - Intel Core i7 i7-3610QM 2.30 GHz - Ice Blue Brushed Aluminum - 1366 x 768 HD Display - 8 GB RAM - 750 GB HDD - DVD-Writer - Intel HD 3000 Graphics Card - Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 46 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Slow performance while charging

By jgrill87 from Charlotte, NC on 03/03/2013

This laptop was a great bargain. The processor is fast, and it came with plenty of memory. However, I experience a strange laggy performance issue when playing video. This only happens when the laptop is plugged in. If running off battery, this issue vanishes. Unfortunately the battery life is kind of short.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Blessing

By Gun from St. Louis, MO on 01/28/2013

This new laptop has really been a blessing for me. I really needed the better performance and the upgrades in software and technology has been fun. Really makes me much more productive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Laptop

By bigjohn42 from mt gilead nc on 01/14/2013

i bought 3 for my grandchildren and one for myself and they have all been great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Raw of it!

By Grizzly from Scotts Valley, Ca on 12/17/2012

Although not touted as a gamer (rather a biz comp), it does excellent. Has not failed to please at L4D2 or LoL. There is one small graphics glitch on LoL in that the abilities demo in the champion details won't play. A small concession to an otherwise great laptop. Remember, if it can play games, it can do anything! =) Grizz


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First Impression . . . Two Thumbs Up

By JoeSchmo from Lewisburg, TN on 12/03/2012

This is my first Toshiba laptop. I will admit that being Toshiba really didn't play much of a role in my purchase. Instead, a combination of features, specs and price were the determining factors. With that said, I have been very happy with my Toshiba laptop. I run multiple programs (Photoshop, Sublime Text 2, etc. . .) together daily with no problems. My laptop performs every task I ask of it beautifully. It even runs COD MW3 multiplayer very well. I do have to turn down the graphics settings, but that is to be expected, as it is not a gaming machine. My one main complaint would be the display. While it looks good, the viewing angles are pretty poor. Brightness varies from top to bottom depending on the angle. So, this is an area that could be improved. A 7200 rpm hard drive would be nice as well. In the end, I am very happy with the machine and would gladly recommend it to a friend. I work with mine and it performs great. So, someone just looking to surf the web, watch YouTube and the like would be set. It is still pretty early to say, but if this laptop keeps up the current performance, Toshiba may have a new fan.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Much Better Laptop

By linkserv from Taylors, SC on 11/29/2012

Compared to my old 6 year old laptop, this one is zoom-zoom.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product

By Mel from Oklahoma CIty, OK on 11/29/2012

This is a good laptop. Not the lightest weight or lowest profile, but better in both respects than most competitors in the 15.6 display, i7 CPU category. Display is bright and crisp and overall performance very good. No glitches or anomalies found, to date.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great laptop for price

By Chris from Hilbert, wi on 11/25/2012

I looked around for a laptop that would be light, fast, and be ready to go. This laptop set up faster than any I've ever had. I've only had it a short time but I am pleased. It is my 4th Toshiba since 1994.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very impressed

By Jim from CA on 11/25/2012

Overall I am very impressed with all facits of this computer. The speed is great. I am still learning about this computer. I would recommed this to anyone at any level of expertise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great laptop

By Carm from Torrington, CT on 11/21/2012

Great machine, reasonable price, super fast. A lot of power for the money. Battery life could be improved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice but ...

By TJ from CO on 11/13/2012

Since I am upgrading from a 6 year old laptop this new one is much faster and works better. My only complaint is the function of the keyboard keys. It seems I have to press the keys much harder to get them to register. Guess I will get used to it but it is a pain right now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2nd Toshiba, really satisfied

By Rocio190889 from Costa Rica on 11/11/2012

I am a college student and a technology lover. I got this to keep up with the school work and to enjoy media features. Its speed is amazing! I went to an i5 to this i7 and you can totally tell the diference. The keyboard ir really comfortable and the battery life is about 5 hours. I am really happy with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best laptop ever

By Sarah from York, PA on 11/04/2012

Even though I am somewhat of a beginner in expertise, I have found that this laptop is easy to use and has many features. The speed is amazing and I like the placement and comfortability of the keyboard. Would definetly recommend this to a friend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Price and quality works ...

By RC from Wheat Ridge, Colorado on 11/04/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Price and quality works when you need it. Like when the electricity goes out. Toshbia should put more powerful batteries in there laptops.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good computer

By zio from connecticut on 10/31/2012

The computer tech I use recommended Toshiba specifically. That is why I bought it and no other reason. If he would have recommended the cheapest computer in the world, then that is what I would buy!!! I've had to many problems in the past especially from DELL!!! If this new Toshiba does everything that my computer guy says, then I will be very happy. So far ,So good!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3rd Toshiba, best so far

By jay123 from Minneapolis on 10/28/2012

This is my 3rd Toshiba and second I7 processor. Value for performance is outstanding. I do use it for Visio and CAD work and am very satisfied. The laptop is amazing light! Since I travel and have a small consulting business, it is necessary to carry two laptops. Cooling is not an issue and the battery life is good. The bloatware is more useful than past. I have removed some 50% of it, but an improvement over the past. Te remainder of the Toshiba add on software is actually useful. I did find that all of the Toshiba add on software (bloat ware) is not compatible with Windows 8. This looks like it is just upgrades, but I found that interesting. Overall, great laptop excellent value and would say you will not be disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst quality yet

By Skeeter from Tyler Texas on 10/28/2012

I have owned 4 previous Toshiba laptops. Contruction is absolutely the worst of any laptop i hve ever owned. And it is the most I have ever paid for a laptop. I have owned just about every brand over the last 15 years. It if did not take so long to setup and transfer information, I would have already returned it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Won't buy again

By M from Milwaukee, WI on 10/28/2012

We bought our first Toshiba in September only to have it fault ever time we started it up. With just Microsoft Office products, iTunes and an HP printer on the computer, we didn't think this should happen. However, having purchased 3 Toshibas prior to this and never had an issue, we chose to exchange it. We are now facing the same exact issue and we are returning it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good buy

By Professor from VA on 10/20/2012

i7 with all of these features at this price is a great value. This is a great multi-tasker. Recording audio, word processing, watching a movie, burning an DVD. All at the same time No problem. Only cons are the two tone metal plastic case is flashy but feels flimser than the P755-S5390 we also have. The speakers are are also a big step down from the Harmon & Cardon speakers on the P755. Lastly the rest of this system rocks why drag it down with 5200 rpm drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

laptop

By nopickie from Undisclosed on 10/20/2012

The best laptop overall. The best trusted brand also. It has every feature needes and is a great running laptop. I would recommend it for anyone. The best brand over dell,acer,asus,samsung. Its battery life lasts 6 hours. The best buy this one


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love This Machine!

By Nancy from Illinois on 10/20/2012

Over the years I've been hooked on Toshiba and this is my fourth. They just keep getting better. Purchased this model in early October 2012 and am totally pleased. The speed is terrific. I love the easy touch of the keys. It gets a little warm and that's it. Runs nice and cool. Connects so quickly to the internet. Easily handles graphics software programs, MS Office. Screen resolution is just beautiful. Sound is pretty good. Great for work, internet and DVD movies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Laptop

By Mandy from Kansas on 10/14/2012

This laptop has been one of the best laptops I have ever owned. It is fast, reliable, and excels in all aspects. It was very decently priced for the high quality received.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still learning

By Cindy from Wahiawa, HI on 10/08/2012

Love the quick start ups and ability to view more than one site at a time. Still wish I could download pictures directly instead of having to go through numerous steps. Would also appreciate directions on how to convert a photo (sent via iPhone) to a jpeg!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Huh? Not as fast or bright as earlier model

By David from Baltimore, MD on 09/29/2012

I have been so pleased with my earlier 17.3 Toshiba Satellite with AMDchip that I bought the latest with an Intel Core 7 (15.6) which I always heard was better. The screen is not at all as bright and the definition not as good. Worse the speed with this super chip and high RAM seems much slower than my older AMD. The same Youtube videos I can watch on the old one pause several times to load while viewing on the new one. I guess I should not have believed all of the hype about Intel chips. I do like the lighter weight, slim line, and new finish. Also like the separated keys. New batteries are terrific and so far good for 4 hours or more. Easy to tell when it is charged or needs to be charged.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for all types of users

By Orrie from P.A. on 09/29/2012

It is very fast. The battery last longer than other computers. I haven't had a problem with it yet. Hands doun the best computer I've had so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Laptop

By Cecelia from NJ on 09/20/2012

Very nice Laptop, fast and plenty of great features. Only one issue I'm not happy with. I still use a mouse to navigate and the heat vent is on the right side of the laptop as a result my right hand gets a little hot at times. Overall, a great value and would recommend to friends.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not bad for price

By Alaskan from Undisclosed on 09/19/2012

After doing my research I picked this laptop because it was a good middle ground. It had decent speed, memory, and batter life, without being THE BEST of anything and therefore costing a fortune. Weight wise it could be a little lighter. I like the metal feel casing, makes it feel very durable. The keyboard and the mouse pad, however, feel very cheap. They function fine, but I'm going to have to worry about the long term durability there. I'm a big fan of Toshiba laptops and got a lot of years out of my last one. This one is only a few weeks old now, so we'll see...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not sure about Photoshop capability

By Mimi from Chattanooga, TN on 09/19/2012

I like it for the most part, but seem to have a lot of incompatibilities with Photoshop CS4 and the internal graphics card. Have crashes, and windows indicating conflicts with display driver and Photoshop. PS is my main reason for purchase, otherwise performance is good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Buy!!

By Mopi from San Diego, CA on 09/19/2012

So this is my first new laptop in 8 years and I realized a lot has changed. I wanted to get something that would last another 8 years if needed and this one fit the bill. First off, the price is right where I needed it to be given the specs on this. Next, the color and feel of this. It was as if it was built just for me. Its fast, starts up quick, and just everything I need it to be.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Laptop, well made

By FOX from Concord Vt on 09/12/2012

Great laptop solid construction. Fast boot. I like the numeric pad on the right side of the key board. I find the face recognition is useless, and IF it worked well, it should work for all pass words not just log in. Finger print reader would be a much better option. Had this on another laptop and loved it. This laptop does not have a hard drive light and I miss this, it is a nice way to see if the hard drive is processing something. All in all it is a great laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super fast laptop

By Sweetstarx87 from New london, ct on 09/11/2012

You dont have to wait at all with this latptop is pretty fast when you go online and the battery is excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very pleased

By crosspatch from albany ga on 09/10/2012

Just got the laptop set up. Very pleased with the speed. Very surprised as how easy the keyboard is for me to use. Other laptops I have used were tight for my fingers. I type very easily on this one. Screen size excellent, colors are gorgeous. Pleased I purchased this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better than an HP

By twhlover from Undisclosed on 09/07/2012

I needed a new laptop, after I had my HP laptop for 4 years. The HP didn't have the memory capacity or battery life that this Toshiba laptop does. I love the color and design. I am very impressed by the quiet running speed and the long battery life. The eco power option is great on it too. So far I have been using his laptop for about a month and love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i7 laptop

By KDB from Southeast Idaho on 09/05/2012

Fast processor, nice feature set, excellent keyboard and mouse pad. Would have preferred a 7200RPM hard drive for increased speed, and maybe a Blu-ray player, but for the price paid, it is a nice machine. I process hundreds of RAW photos per week in Lightroom 4 and this i7 laptop is considerably faster than my last HP 1st generation i5 laptop. Definitely recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I purchased the Toshiba ...

By donthaveone from Atlanta, GA on 09/03/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Toshiba S855-S5254 laptop as a work computer when I travel to customer sites. I use the laptop mostly for high end cadd cam applications. It preforms so well I find myself not using my office pc when in the office. It is big enough without being too big, The number keys were a must have, graphics with my solid modeling apps are great. If I could ask for anything more it would be backlit key board.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Third Toshiba Laptop

By sailor from Lee's Summit, MO on 08/29/2012

It is lightweight, fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product!!!

By Mountainbiker1562234 from Charlotte NC on 08/28/2012

First off, don't be fooled by the other people on this review blog, I happen to be typing from the computer that we are talking about. As most people above would say how the curser goes to random spots on the screen, well, that's because while you are typing, the palm of either your right or left hand was hitting the mouse pad and made the curser move. Try keeping your hands away from the mouse pad. So Far I have put 10000+ songs and some video on I tunes which from a cold start only takes about 3 seconds to open the program. (Not Bad) I love this computer and I would suggest it to any college student or someone who wants a reasonably priced computer and doesn't want to deal with slow, over-priced other solutions such as dell and hp... Great Product Toshiba!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleased w/ Laptop but curious

By peacelily54 from MD on 08/26/2012

I have noticed (and some of my co-workers as well) that often the cursor moves from where you are inputting data or words to some random place on the document (e-mail as well) while typing. Can you explain? Thanks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent lap top

By kica from florida on 08/24/2012

love the keyboard and screen


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great System for Anyone

By LuvMyToshiba from CT on 08/23/2012

I purchased the Toshiba Satellite a month ago and I'm very impressed with the spped and reliability of this product model. I'm still getting used to the keyboard which is my only item that I'm not as fond of due to needing to get used to changes from my old Dell. I choose this product based on reviews, price, and offering of the I7 Intel chip. I'm now a Toshiba fan!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed!!!!

By Disgusted from Leesburg, Va. on 08/17/2012

I have had a very frustrating time with this laptop!!! Whenever I do emails or type the pages shift, page shrinks, print never stays the same size, the pages jump, and the cursor goes all over the screen, never stays in one place!!!! I should have bought a Dell laptop!!!! I hate this computer!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great laptop

By waterdragon from Portsmouth, NH on 08/14/2012

Having great fun using all the features In the Satellite. This is my second one the first did a great job for 7years, and is still being used daily. I expect this one to do the same. Speedy, powerful.. no troubles at all so far, I'm very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smooth operation

By none from Tully NY on 08/09/2012

The laptop is a very well made machine, It is fast, light weight, and operates easily.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Realy nice laptop

By Philepovich from Ankeny, Iowa on 08/04/2012

I really like the computer. I did have a hard drive fail after 7 days but got the wole computer replaced. This one has lived up to all of my expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lightening fast!!

By K0rrupt from Weston, CT on 07/12/2012

Toshiba Satellite S855-S5254 Appears to be well made, is lightening fast!! There is no way in the BIOS to disable the Numlock - this means that every time you boot up your PC, if you don't want your Numlock on, you have to manually disable it every single time at bootup. Toshiba; please update this BIOS to fix this!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to us. Quiet keys, ...

By Dr. fut from Pennslyvania on 07/08/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to us. Quiet keys, good size screen with good picture quility. Plenty of power and memory. Only 5 llbs. Good battery life. My 1st laptop and I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved