Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » PSPLZU001002 » 22 Reviews

Toshiba PSPLZU-001002 Qosmio 17.3" I7 1tb 12gb Win8 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 22 reviews)

66% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great Toshiba

By neilymon from North Fort Myers, Florida on 09/27/2013

I've owned Toshiba laptops for over 10 years. This laptop has recently started giving me a problem with starting up after closing the lid down for the night. I've kept this one more simple with as few installed software as I needed. So I am in the process of eliminating settings to find out why the laptop will not start back up when I open the lid the next day. I had the Toshiba setting to Sleep when I closed the lid and now I've changed that to shut down. Also I have Team Viewer installed to access from my Tablet from a different location. That software is free. I turned OFF the setting to start Team Viewer when the laptop starts back up after the lid is closed. Otherwise, I am very pleased with the performance, quality and looks of this laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba builds excellant laptops.

By Hec from Mission,Texas on 09/13/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The downside is Windows 8. This laptop without a touch screen is not made for windows 8. Would have paid the additional money for Windows 7 Pro. The only use for this laptop with Windows 8 is to use it for a boat anchor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Laptop

By joe from TENNESSEE on 07/10/2013

My second TOSHIBA laptop is even better than my first, which my son still uses ten years later. In the meantime I've had two others, HP, and dell xps (xtream piece of stuff). I love my QOSMIO, always wanted one and I am not disappointed. Windows 8 is terrible and the cause of many problems too numerous to mention.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointment

By Harold from El Paso, TX on 06/02/2013

Performance is less than advertised, computer froze upon delivery while trying to update BIOS, multiple problems with Windows 8 (computer delivered with software from last year), USB drivers not available, recognizes 6 of 12GB memory, slowing performance


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice for the price

By PeeWee from Nashville, GA on 04/21/2013

Hate Windows 8 and keyboard does not fit into the laptop very well. Aside from these things it flies and will handle whatever you throw at it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Beast at Gaming

By Nando from Undisclosed on 04/17/2013

This laptop runs the top high-end PC games. Battlefield 3 run on ultra setting and the PC runs cool! The battery goes down a little bit faster when playing a game.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Powerful but.....

By mash from Undisclosed on 04/15/2013

i have had this laptop for over 2 months, i bought it after having another model in the house BUT this is the biggest disappointment. windows 8 is the Terrible. Before you buy this remember you will find your self downgrading (or considering) to windows 7 i would not recommend it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value for money for the specs offered.

By prash from Undisclosed on 04/14/2013

I'll try to make it easy listing out the pros and cons. Pros : 1. Incredibly fast performance as the specs suggests. It seems like nothing can slow this machine down. 2. Good audio output from the quad speakers. 3. Good build quality, laptop feels quite rugged. 4. Very responsive multi-touch pad. 5. Nice design. Cons : 1. Laptop is quite heavy so it?s strenuous to carry around. After all it is a big 17? 2. Mediocre battery backup. About 2 hours for mixed use (media/browsing). 3. Screen resolution could have been FULL HD. 16:9 is OK but not great. 4. I feel the keyboard could have been better. I like the backlit but the keys themselves are not very comfortable. 5. This maybe a individual concern but this laptop has no BluRay DVD player. I am fine with it since I very rarely use BluRay discs. Overall this is a great laptop and a good value for money. When you use the laptop the sheer performance wafts you over the cons so that should not be a big issue. I have been using this for a couple of months now and I love it! Definitely worthy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

OK, not great

By Chas from California on 04/06/2013

Generally, a good machine. Difficult to see the screen clearly from off angles or to see the full screen face on. Mouse pad is super sensitive, activating even if I have not touched the pad (just the heat of my hand?).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Laptop!

By rodrg88 from Shanghai, China on 04/04/2013

The laptop in general works perfectly, high quality video resolution, audio and images too; the laptop design is probably one of the best features matching black and red colors perfectly, the only problem I found is that its kind of heavy to carry it and the battery just last 2hrs aprox...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great but not excellent...

By Koro from Great Falls, MT on 03/20/2013

This laptop was great! The sound,graphics card,and screen all exceeded my expectations! Well really the computer in whole did. I've seen some people whining about battery life but I have to say this isn't a problem really. Given what this laptop can do. That being said I'd rate it a 8/10 only because of when I opened it and took it out of the box the border around the keys was sticking up. I had to push it in myself. Also the optical drive was faulty(spinning up on its own ever few mins.)so I sent it back to the store for replacement.(not paying this type of money just to have to have a repair job done.) Two other things of note. 1. This laptop does get hot while playing games. Didn't matter if it was an hour or of it was 4 hours. It heats up fast. 2.Win.8...really I'm not a fan however it doesn't slow this one down any! Few hours playing around with it and I felt like a pro. I really see no need to downgrade to 7. All in all I love this laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just the computer I needed

By weegee from Jersey Shore on 03/15/2013

I work quite heavily with Adobe CS6 programs and the power of the computer and NVidia video card are a necessity. I run an extra 23 inch monitor to help spread out my work flow with no problems - more of a desktop than a laptop so the low life of the battery isn't really an issue unless the power goes out


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great specs great price

By RKDWife from Philadelphia, Pa on 03/12/2013

This laptop is super fast, the screen is big, the graphics are awesome. I wish there was a way to personalize it though as the only option is red and black. I also wished it came with Windows 7 as Windows 8 has its quirks but that has nothing to do with the laptop itself. Got this to play all my Sims 3 games and I am thrilled at how this laptop handles it all. I am a loyal Toshiba fan as I had a satellite series for about 4 years and never had any issues and this purchase did not disappoint in any way. If you're looking for a system with these specs under any other brand you WILL be paying ALOT. The battery doesn't last long but I keep mine plugged in most of the time so it doesn't bother me too much. I nicknamed my laptop Dream as it is the laptop I always dreamed about :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I replaced a Toshiba ...

By Sulli from Redding, CA on 03/10/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I replaced a Toshiba Satellite that I had for 8 years and with very minimal problems. Needless to say after that experience I was going to buy another Toshiba and tell all my friends about the longevity of the Toshiba, I, so far have high hopes for my new Toshiba. This laptop is very fast and has never even gotten warm, and I have put it though some multitasking and other kinds of tests, that would overheat my previous laptop. The display is very nice, I don't know if I would say eye popping but very nice for sure and plenty of screen real estate. The keyboard is nice with the back light, however the pad is right in the way and easy to touch accidentally while typing, it does have a touch-pad disable button and I am getting used to using it when doing a lot of typing (also you can double-click in the upper left corner to disable). Battery life is average for a laptop with this much power, not impressive but not a disappointment either, I think I get between 3 and 5 hours unplugged and doing light work (e-mails, surfing) closer to 2-3 hours with Photoshop or AutoCAD. I still would love for makers of computers to leave the software writing to the software makers and not plug up new computers with software that nobody uses and have to waste time removing, there is enough to do getting used to a new computer and new Windows OS. The weight is good for a laptop this size and power. Overall a great value, and great laptop so far. If it lasts as long as my previous Toshiba I will be extremely happy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Qosmio + win8

By Casper from Albion, MI on 03/09/2013

The laptop itself is great minus the operating system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pleased so far with the ...

By Roscoe from Boston, MA on 03/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pleased so far with the laptop; good sound, fast. Went from a desktop w/23" screen to this 17" and do not notice much difference.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best one I've had.

By SilverSheep0210 from Morganton, NC on 02/01/2013

I bought this laptop for my college classes, and for gaming. I have had this computer for a month and a year, and I love it. It is a beast of a work horse, and can take the toughest jobs. And I love the backlit keys. But of games like Just Cause 2 and Skyrim I have to have the computer plugged in or else it laggs a bit. Which is fine by me, I dont mind having to plug up, but it does get annoying. One other thing That could have been better it its battery life, its pretty short. Overall though this is a very good computer for either the workaholics, or the gamer on the go. I still wish I could turn off the backlight name on the back of the computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great laptop, terrible OS GUI

By Kamakalia from San Diego, CA on 01/31/2013

This is a GREAT laptop and, so far, it handled beautifully I everything I threw at it! On the minus side: - the wireless chipset (Intel Centrino Wireless N2230) can't connect to 5Ghz networks; this is a HUGE let-down on a higher-end laptop like this one. - Windows 8: the GUI is not only dreadful (Fisher-Price inspired square tiles, much?, no possibility to change the retina-searing white windows background), it is also completely impractical if don't you use it with a touch-enabled device. There are workarounds, but expect to spend some time tweaking it before you can recreate an interface that allows productivity type work. This being said, once you managed to whip its GUI into submission, Windows 8 is really fast and runs pretty smoothly. - I'm personally not fond at all of the flashy red accents and I'd much rather have silver/white tones. (I fully realize that this one is a matter of taste, a really minor issue, and I can live just fine with the red.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Customized mine

By auldshool from SE USA on 01/31/2013

Keep reading reviews about wanting to load win7...suggest full install, drive swap, need to change bios to CSM from UEFI to load from install disk. There are drivers for win7 64 bit on Tosh european site to download for this. I swapped out to SSD, loaded win7 ultimate on mine. Trick to BIOS is to hold down F2 when you hit power button, then hold down F12 to go into BIOS. Great machine for all other reasons but batttery only about 2 hours is not good for me. Love it otherwise now that I have win7.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing laptop, not so amazing OS!

By Hash from Newark, DE on 12/26/2012

The X875 Q7380 is my dream laptop, it has everything I had ever hoped to have in a laptop - Insane RAM, a fast processor, incredible graphic card, large 17 screen and it was $100 cheaper too! But the only downside is that I wish it wasn't $100 cheaper, just so that it could have come with Windows 7 because that's what I had seen it with first. Windows 8 is terrible (in my opinion) and I wish there were a way for me to install Windows 7 on my laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great!

By sam from San mateo, California on 11/26/2012

i bought this laptop and it fulfilled all of my gaming needs that i desired. however, as i student i had portability issues because the weight of the laptops is not 8 pounds as it says it more like 14. but if ur looking it for gaming, it is epic. he design it self gives u the chills.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Qosmio x875-q7380 Review

By yes from Brooklyln NY on 11/26/2012

Solid performing laptop. I especially like the discrete graphics card giving choice on which process to use on given software products. Reliable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved