Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » PSU6SU017008 » 19 Reviews

Toshiba PSU6SU-017008 14" I5 500gb 6gb Win8 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 19 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

I wasn't paying attention

By Rich III from Olympia, WA on 08/17/2013

I have three Toshibas in the house now. The Ultra book is our latest and I got it almost on a love a first sight kind of thing. I admired the speed and battery life of the other two older lap tops, I had sought the intel i5 processor, and the keyboard was real keys instead of my pudgy fingers trying to find indentations on a flat panel. I also didn't want the number keyboard on the right hand side so this fit me well. But I missed a couple things. Windows 8 is a tough learning curve for a guy who has held off iPads and more sophisticated cell phones. The format is not making me happy even after a month of concentrated use. The keyboard I loved is not as sensitive as I would like leaving a lot of letters out as I type. I missed that when I first played with it in the store. There is no port for CD/DVDs. I totally missed that. I just assumed it would have ports. I had it all set up and registered before I discovered that or I would have taken it back. I've got a lot of photos and other data invested in DVDs. I now have to do a very inconvenient work around. But...the speed is delightful, especially on line and I am doing a lot more of that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery low always

By Jpss from Undisclosed on 08/04/2013

The computer is light, starts fast, and has god perfonance buy the battery is really bad, is new and just works for 2 hrs


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good BUT could've been excellent

By jack-daniels from las vegas, nv on 07/01/2013

I definitely like the speed and efficiency with which I can access and manipulate data across multiple applications at the same time. This computer seems to have enough power for what I need to be able to do. However, the major flaw with this machine - like most laptops I've used - is the problem of cursor jumping while you're typing. This touchpad may be the worst I've ever used, if that is indeed what's causing the cursor to jump to some other area of the screen. I've even tried laying something across the touchpad to reduce the problem and that helps BUT WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO DO THAT!! That's the major heartburn I have with this laptop, but it's not the only one to suffer from this problem, but it is definitely the worst I've ever experienced. I'm a consultant, so I analyze things for a living. Here's an idea I think you should incorporate into your product line - an expandable view screen. I like the smaller laptops because of the compactness with which I can carry it wherever I go. However, the size of the screen is less than optimum for some display situations. I think you should develop additional screens flaps that unfold to the top and sides of the main screen to facilitate the user's ability to work on multiple screens just like a desktop workstation. I'm thinking of sharing this with the Apple guys, so let me know what you think. THanks, jack-daniels


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great laptop

By Travis from Okinawa, Japan on 06/15/2013

I'm not sure why everyone is complaining about the battery life since I can video Skype for almost 4 hours while browsing the internet on a full charge. Also I haven't had any issues with the keyboard or an over sensitivity on the touch pad. Overall this is a great laptop especially for the price. A few bad things I have to say about it is that the cooling system could be better and yes the wireless does like to randomly cut out requiring you to turn the wireless off and back on. The built in speakers also seem very cheap but mine is hooked up to my TV and surround sound so I don't really use the built in speakers very often.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice attempt

By mimmo from San Jose on 05/26/2013

The Bad: vents on the bottom, after 2/3 hrs of intense graphic use it will shut down because it overheats. A chill pad is mandatory with this machine! Sending mine in under warranty because of this problem. Keyboard is lighted but not very good, (much less for typing) lots of light bleeding all around keys, they could have done a better job for this price range. The goods: fast, quite, light


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sattelite U945

By Jayhawk from Huntsville, AL on 04/22/2013

It's a great little laptop! The only problem is that it's running Windows 8. I think it would have 5 star for features if it had windows 7.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cool

By Marlen from Mexico on 04/12/2013

So far it's a very cool machine, but I can't believe my keyboard is already going transparent on less than 4 months of use. Terrible paint on the keyboard. I don't even use the touchpad because it's too sensitive indeed and would screw everything while typing, too big for my taste - I use external mouse. In terms of functionality it is great - so these are just my 'complains' but as always I've been using Toshiba laptops for 7 years and the older two are still usable, just not 'fast enough' for what I require to do. You seriously have to improve your keyboards, the one I bought in 2006 still has all keys in perfect state which means there is some cheap element being used to paint these keys. I use mine every single day and I have no problems - I've had 3 different ones and this one is obviously the lightest and fastest one to get, great for muti tasking, there is no noisy fan and the backlight of the keyboard is very handy. Use your 'function' key to turn it on and off.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Average

By doctor from San Jose, CA on 03/27/2013

Its worth getting ultrabook for low price but has problems: 1> If I shutdown the system without closing some application I have to struggle lot to turn it on. 2> Loud speaker makes lot of noise, very very bad speakers. 3> Battery life is not good enough 4> Worst keyboard and touch pad I have ever used


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very nice laptop

By ding dong from northern ill on 03/24/2013

Everything is great but when the computer wakes up from sleep mode the backlite keyboard does not. I hope there will be an update to correct.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A good laptop for a good price.

By Dwarfjazzer from Guatemala on 03/21/2013

We have to be sure what we want just to don't be dissapointed of the product we get. Just at looking at the price we could have an idea that some of the specs will be not as good as we would like, but hey! none is forcing you to buy it. I like the product I bought and at the end the reason was the price, since we could have a nice 14z dell or even an Asus almost for the same price but at that moment I needed the laptop and not enought money...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Win 8 kills this machine

By Jennifer from Undisclosed on 03/18/2013

Even when I power it off, the battery drains. After a few days, it's almost empty. I haven't made the full switch to this machine because win 8 drives me insane. I am going to dig up my Win 7 pro cd and try to install. And although I like the backlighting, I don't like the keyboard. I learned how to type and it is not conducive to speed typing. It is a lot faster than my 5 year old Dell, but I'm too busy looking up work arounds that I'm not getting any work done.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor WiFi card, standard battery life

By whimsical from san diego, ca on 03/13/2013

WiFi card always get disconnected and will not be able to re-connect until I restart the card. Tried downloading the wireless card driver again but won't install. battery only last about 2 hours just like standard machine and I am not running any heavy duty things or having a bright screen. a bit disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

For the price, very capable

By BAO from Augusta, GA on 03/09/2013

Very good for the price. The mouse is a little touchy, and the battery not quite what I expected for an Ultrabook, but for the price, it is a very capable and stylish machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

trouble with wireless connection

By Ro from MA on 02/28/2013

Had trouble with laptop connecting to wireless internet while other devices had no problem. Still trying to figure it out


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value Ultrabook

By Bob from Overland Park, KS on 02/25/2013

Love the laptop so far, boots fast and runs seamlessly. Only issue is the mouse pad left/right clicks are picky, but use external mouse mostly so not a bother


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

u945-s4390 ultrabook

By gatorpapa from Melbourne, Fl on 02/23/2013

This ultrabook is fast in booting and shut down. The screen is large enough to handle normal home use such as Microsoft office, email and surfing the internet. Storage for photo and display them are faster than my older dual core laptop. It does not crash easily and runs reliable. It is the computer that I expected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great budget laptop with flaws

By Evan from Chicago, IL on 02/13/2013

It doesn't feel like a tipical ultrabook, but it also doesn't cost as much as one either. Touchpad works great, but touchpad drivers are too sensitive and can't be adjusted. Had to find software that automatically disables clicking on the touchpad while I type now no issues. The backlight problem as described in other review is a huge pain. The speakers are insultingly bad, and the battery life is disappointing, 4 hours max on normal usage. Screen is exrtremely bright, but so glossy that is has limited viewing angles and can't be seen in sunlight. Overall good budget ultrabook, but if you can afford to, get something nicer


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

keyboard backlight stops working after sleep

By Bob from Wyoming on 01/09/2013

When the ultrabook sleeps the backlit keyboard stops working and thto get it backe computer must be restarted to get it back. Same thing on a demo at the store.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

topest laptop in 2012

By ipgeek from la on 12/07/2012

It is a very nice to see u945 in market .high perfomance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved