Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » PT225U004004 » 10 Reviews

Toshiba Portege Z830-S8301 13.3" LED Notebook - Intel Core i5 i5-2557M 1.70 GHz - Ultimate Silver - 1366 x 768 WXGA Display - 4 GB RAM - 128 GB SSD - Intel HD 3000 Graphics Card - Bluetooth - Webcam - Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 10 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

it's great

By ajmcch from SF Bay Area, CA on 06/14/2012

I love it. it is light and easy to bring with me. The battery life is great and I love how it's ready to go right away. I wish it was available years before.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

light but poor battery

By strider from Raleigh NC on 03/08/2012

It looks nice, it's light, and it's fast enough for my work (developing code on the laptop then running it on a desktop). I only get about 2 hours per charge though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best ultrabook

By orinx from Taiwan on 02/19/2012

I like ethernet port and HDMI / VGA port. z830 is awesome !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fan noisy is the only problem

By Gavin from Undisclosed on 02/07/2012

Fan noisy is the only problem to me. in the classroom, it is a crazy noisy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Acceptable Laptop

By Prof from State College, PA on 01/20/2012

Long a Lenovo user, the Toshiba replaces the T61 as my main computer for travel and fixed station machine. It does not have as good a keyboard as Lenovo machines have, and the screen is not quite as good. But it is much thinner, lighter, and acceptable. Lenovo has an excellent update and support network; I will have to see how Toshiba compares. The case does not seem as sturdy as other ultrabooks, a comment Mossberg made in his recent review of ultrabooks in the WSJ. An important reason for selecting the Toshiba was its standard 3 year warranty. I figured if it was warranted for 3 years, it must have servicable components. One thing I find irritating: Toshiba sends out emails for accessories, but they never match the emails with the product owned. For example, emails tout expanded memory and batteries, which are not applicable to my machine. I wish the machine had more battery charge options as does the T61; only using Toshiba's eco option am I able to control the charge level below 100%; with eco it fixes the reduced charge at 80%. I do a lot of technical computing using e.g., Mathematica; we'll see how well it handles those tasks. So far at least I am pleased. They keyboard and screen are the two features that could be improved. Other functionality seems quite good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great laptop

By spock from Undisclosed on 01/18/2012

I bought this to replace my macbook pro and am loving it. It has a fast start-up time and is even lighter than I thought. My only disappointment is that it is slow downloading. The fingerprint scanner is great and works 90 percent of the time. I have been able to play intense games on it. I also use it for notes in high school. I would highly recommend this laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrific ultrabook!

By Keast from East Coast on 01/17/2012

I have always had a light laptop, as I travel a lot. I moved from a Dell 4-pounder running XP (which was great except for its abysmal battery life) to a Toshiba Netbook 1.5 years ago. Loved the netbook's battery life and light weight, but the small screen was somewhat a problem for my work documents. When I read about the Z830-S8301 I had to try it. I've had this for about a month now, and love it! Fast, light, good battery life (not as good as Netbook, but far better than anything else I've had). Keyboard feels great. Mousepad keys are a bit stiff, but I'm getting used to them. I use a cheap external DVD drive I picked up years ago to load software. My only wish was that I could have gotten it with an 11-inch monitor (as MacAir)--would have served my needs and would have allowed me to easily tote it in my purse. Laptop did not come loaded with a lot of trial software, which I really appreciate (came with Norton and Office). Highly recommend this laptop!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little laptop!

By Jake from Jerusalem, Israel on 01/04/2012

I reviewed all the ultra-light laptops on the market for the last 6 months. I choose the Portege because it complied with most of my requirements: light weight, sturdy and slim body, backlit keypad, fast start up and excellent computing speed. I have been using it for my many lectures, presenting slideshows and enjoying my photos from my travels. I would recommend it without reservations for any professional who needs a handy and efficient computer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great size

By Chuck from Jacksonville, FLORIDA on 12/22/2011

Smaller and lighter than the Mac Air........but with much more capability. Lots of ports. A great little computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love It!

By Bon from Clearfield, PA on 12/21/2011

I needed a full size laptop for work that was thin enough to fit in my purse/bag. This one is perfect for every day use and for taking to meetings, etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved