Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » PT324U02200R » 35 Reviews

Toshiba Portege R835-P81 13.3" Notebook - Intel Core i5 i5-2435M 2.40 GHz - 6 GB RAM - 640 GB HDD - DVD-Writer - Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 35 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

great laptop... ok keyboard

By swingingant from Undisclosed on 05/13/2012

my previous laptop broke down suddenly and i had to quickly decide on a new one. i was lucky that i saw this one :)... it has all the features i wanted :)... was a little over budget but the features for that price was pretty good... i work on the laptop a lot and the only crib i have is the keyboard isnt that good... it looks very good but the feel isnt that smooth... but if u can look past that and get accustomed to it.... its a great piece of equipment for the price :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy

By Ron from Rockland County,N.Y on 03/13/2012

Great purchase, speed-performance excellent...only minor negative is I'm surprised they don't offer a keyboard protector for this model to prevent dust etc


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great, other than AV port inopertive

By flight plan guy from Grand Rapids MI on 03/01/2012

Good, other than my printer port inopertive after 3 weeks, What do I do? Send it back with all my programs installed? My other Toshiba was a workhorse for 5 years, but I have a short in the screen. The screen must be positioned just right for viewing. I have it hooked up on a large moniter which does work well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lightweight, lots of features

By Donna from Gig Harbor WA on 02/29/2012

This is a good laptop for personal and travel use. It has lots of features and is lightweight. I feel it will replace my desktop AND my netbook which I use for travel. It has 6mg RAM, built-in DVD and 600+ hard drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba Protege So Cute!

By desertlife28 from Lake Havasu City, AZ on 02/08/2012

A long time ago, about 13 years ago, I had bought my husband a Toshiba Satellite when they first came out (unfortunately on the way to Afghanistan it was stolen about 4 years ago). About a year after buying my husbands Toshiba we liked it so much we bought one for myself (about 12 years ago). Once he retired we bought him a new laptop an HP at a very good price, its been okay but the Vista is not all that user friendly. When the Windows 7 came out, my old Toshiba was becoming outdated and finding on-line support for updates is getting limited and we decided to buy me a laptop but unfortunately I decided to try a Gateway it was at a great price. I got it home and I have had problems with it from the beginning, half the time the Wi-Fi fails to work and their customer service for technical support was more then lacking. After serveral of years of frustration using the Gateway I decided I needed to look into buying something different, something that was dependable. While my old Toshiba (almost 12 years) is outdated it is the most dependable unit ever! And yes we still have it and it still works GREAT:) I have never had a problem with my old Toshiba ever and I decided to come home to the Toshiba brand and that is when I decided to look into the Protege. I wanted something smaller and lighter, for the longest time Toshiba didn't have the smaller laptops and my husband saw this one on a TV commercial and told me about it. I looked into it, it had everything I needed in my desires for a new laptop and it is sooooooooooooooo cute! The HD is eye-popping, the sound is not so good but it wasn't on my Gateway either. My old Toshiba has GREAT sound so what is lacking in sound with my Protege it more than makes up with HD! I can get small speakers for it if need be. I love, love, love my new Toshiba Protege and will NEVER buy another brand again! Oh, and Toshiba's technical support is AWESOME, I have always experienced goodness with their support whenever I needed to call about my old Toshiba. Thank you Toshiba for making the Protege!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for me

By Mike from Indy on 02/06/2012

I wanted to replace my 5 year old Satellite. It lacked speed, # of USB ports and had a small HD. I had all my media files on multiple external drives. I also had a 10 inch Lenovo netbook that I used for travel. I had a list of features that I wanted and had been looked for 6 months. I finally found the R835-R81. It had everything except a Blu-Ray. I decided I didn't really need that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I spent months reviewing ...

By Professor in Colorado from Boulder, CO on 02/02/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I spent months reviewing the latest and greatest laptop features, but for the longest time I couldn't seem to find everything I wanted in one computer. I've had a Toshiba Satellite for 5 years--which I've LOVED--and though it was still performing great, it was starting to feel way too heavy to lug around everywhere. (I'm a university professor so I'm constantly lugging my laptop with me to show slides in class, attend conferences out of state, and conduct research overseas.) Everyone kept telling me to switch to a Mac, but I've been so happy with my PC that I kept hoping to find "just the right thing". I finally came across the Toshiba Portege R835-P81, and couldn't be happier. Though I'm bummed I found a cheaper price within a couple weeks of purchasing mine, I'm still highly satisfied with my purchase. The laptop is definitely light and portable, and the battery's been lasting around 6 hours. The keyboard feels great, speakers are way better than I'd expected, and I loved that this was one of the only ultrabooks I could find that still had a CD/DVD drive. I'm very impressed by the size of memory and HD, and the i5 processor is way faster than the Core2Duo in my old laptop--even with twice as many programs running. Knock on wood, I haven't had a single problem with this Portege and am so glad I ended up choosing it over all the others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very happy with it

By Adrian from Mexico on 01/24/2012

It is a very powerful computer, with all the ports/interfaces I wanted it to have, with DVD drive, and very light weight. All of these at an affordable price. I'm very happy with it and expect to have it for many years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best In Show

By Pepe from Laguna Beach, CA on 01/18/2012

I have own over 7 toshiba laptops since 1990. I have also bought them for clients and family. It is the best quality in the market and that includes Apple.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product, a few things could be improved

By Daniel from Sofia, Bulgaria (Europe) on 01/13/2012

I rated this Toshiba 5 stars because of my overall positive impression. To be honest, I'm quite happy working on this machine and definitely recommend it to business professionals who are often on the road and don't want to sacrifice the variety of ports and connectivity options in favor of ultra-books or tablets. I choose this model instead of a VAIO SA series model, and for the last 2 months I have no regrets about my decision. The pros: very lightweight, sturdy keyboard, variety of ports (1xUSB 2.0 port, 1xUSB 3.0 port, 1xUSB 2.0/eSATA port,VGA, Gigabit, HDMI), long lasting battery (taking notes during business meeting with wi-fi on - above 7 hours, movies - about 5 hours; heavy multitasking without the Eco function ON - about 3 or 4 hours); stylish design. The cons: no back-light keyboard (although this is not a deal breaker, one or two times I missed that feature when it was pitch black); probably not very contrast LCD display, but that could be something related to settings or due to my distorted color perception :); a little bloatware - the Bulletin Board and some timeline program. The laptop doesn't emit too much heat, when Eco mode is ON, you could almost tell that the bottom surface is cool; the noise in Eco mode is absent, a little bit more when multitasking, but in a while it fades away, it's not bothering. My machine is with 6 cell battery; probably with the 9 cell battery the results will be better. Although there's no quick charge, the recharge time is tolerable. Hope that all this is useful to someone interested in buying the Portege R835 :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Portable, Competent Laptop

By Hal from Baltimore, MD on 01/04/2012

Portability is very important to me. At about 3.2 pounds the Toshiba Portege R835 is easy to carry around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine

By Bailey's Mom from SE Michigan on 01/02/2012

Quick, responsive, great keyboard, Only think I'd change is the cord which is causing problems the way it lays.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Believe Reviews

By p from Undisclosed on 12/31/2011

Looked around for a while for a small, portable laptop that still has a CD/DVD drive, and that can withstand being lugged around day-in, day-out. CNET and other popular review sources gave this machine top choices and many reviews argued that it was the best machine given factors of price, weight and performance. It's fast, lightweight, and has metal casing. I've had it for a couple months and so far, so great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Santa Gift Ever!

By SantaMom from Cape Charles, VA on 12/28/2011

This laptop was purchased as a Christmas gift for my 14 year old daughter. This computer provides all the bang of a computer in a small, lightweight size comparable to the Mac Air. So far, she loves it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good laptop

By Bud from Wilmington, DE on 12/26/2011

Wanted a compact laptop to take on trips, vacations, etc. as well as to use at home, but wanted one that could handle tasks such as photo editing, etc. The P-81 seems to be just what we were looking for. My son also has a Toshiba laptop and has been very happy with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Laptop exceeds my expectations

By sugarbear from Cleveland, OH on 12/24/2011

I purchased a Portege R835-P81 for personal use while traveling. I travel a great deal and wanted a small easy to carry laptop that still has the computing power I need. Ths laptop exceeds my expectations. It is small and lightweight, easy to transport through airports from city to city. I also has the computer power I need for work and personal pleasure.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Laptop

By Nagarajan from Scranton,PA on 12/21/2011

Nice laptop with I5 processor and 640 GB. I love it from day 1


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice and Light. Prefer the Satellite.

By Toshiba33 from CA on 12/21/2011

This laptop and nice and light - very easy to carry around, and it has the cd/dvd player, which is nice (some smaller ones don't). The speakers are terrible though, and the keyboard is just average (I had a Toshiba Satellite before this one, and even though it's years older, I really prefer it!) The speed on this (i5, 6BG) is fast, but it drops connection every once in a while, and the Satellite never did that. Running multiple programs is average. The weight part is the most it has going for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pros: There are so many ...

By K from Undisclosed on 12/20/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros: There are so many good things I have to say about this product. It is a great size and extremely light (my previous laptop was the same size but noticeably heavier). It's fast and efficient and I haven't had any big problems with it so far. Minor Cons: The sound quality is not great. If I turn my volume up all the way while playing a video, the sound is scratchy, as though the laptop speakers can't handle music so loud. I don't play music loudly often, and this wasn't an issue for any laptop I've had before. The webcam quality is average. The design of the charger's jack is a little loose too, as it slips out fairly easily. There is no easy volume increase/decrease button the same way there is a brightness increase/decrease button (fn+F6/F7). There is simply "on" or "mute". Overall though, I am in love with this light, efficient little laptop because it's great for travel -- hyper-portable, and the minor cons don't impact my overall satisfaction with this product too much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very powerful well designed

By Uncle Lar from Bloomington, Illinois on 12/18/2011

I needed a small powerful and lightweight laptop at an affordable price. The R835-81 is perfect in all respects. The i5 processor in very fast and efficient. This machine is not designed for entertainment (the speakers are pretty bad) but it is great for everything else. The keyboard has a nice feel to it - the keys are nicely designed and very high quality. I really love this machine and it is a perfect match for what I use it for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Selecting a new laptop

By UrbanSurfer from The Great Swamp on 12/16/2011

Thin, yet sturdy. Lightweight, but solid. From the start, this unit has good response time to the ON-button. Only modest software promos, and easily set up for personal use. It has a high level of intuitive anticipation. Download, Transfer and Copy speeds among devices (thumb-drives/flash drives and USB drives is real good) Chose CHROME to use as a browser and it's working quite smoothly, with no issues. Am quite pleased with this Toshiba Portege selection.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very solid product

By Shadrach from New York City on 12/09/2011

This is a well-made machine. It appears to be durable and very portable. I've used it for several weeks and have no complaints about performance, battery life, and its feature-set. It boots quickly and connects solidly to even sketchy wi-fi signals.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Performance & Portability at a Great Value.

By ASR from Bangalore, India on 12/07/2011

Good light laptop with solid performance and 6.5hours of battery life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy!

By KS from Hillsboro, OR on 12/07/2011

Love the memory, the very light weight. I am set for years to come.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Performance & Portability at a Great Value.

By ASR from Bangalore, India on 12/07/2011

Good light laptop with solid performance and 6.5hours of battery life. Be aware that there is no bluetooth and if you run compute intensive programs, expect to hear the CPU fan.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Huh

By ga from Ohio on 12/06/2011

I like the HDMI port. It was a snap to show photos on my tv I like having a dvd drive. Battery life seems ok


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Laptop

By Lineus from Massachuestts on 12/05/2011

If you're looking for laptop with loads of features and also under 4lbs, this is the solution. Wonderfully compact, yet fast and effecient.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love it

By Meemaw from Anna, Il on 12/04/2011

Very light weight and easy for travel. I am very pleased. It boots up really really fast. so far I am in love with this handy laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

laptop review

By Mike from Andover, MA on 12/02/2011

Works great - problem with USB ports loosing connectivity, wireless network shutdowns occasionally. Just installed BIOS and patch that should resolve this. We'll see .....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love it

By traveler from Ann Arbor, MI on 11/26/2011

i've used toshiba laptops for a long time--but this one is the best. fast, lightweight, long battery life. i wanted light but with dvd, and this has it. only problem so far is that the speaker isn't loud enough for joint viewing of movies.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Overall

By Chapin from Riva, MD on 11/17/2011

Excellent speed. Light weight and very portable. Good looks. Excellent performance so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not that good!

By DJ from Undisclosed on 11/05/2011

My school implemented a new system and we all got this laptop and so far I can tell the laptop has not been working so well doing simple tasks like opening word would cause the computer to lag a lot and the program would not respond. Now I can tell you I am a mac user and for the price this is $100 less than the lowest moddel mac and comparing it to my mac (lowest moddel mac) it does not run that well, to push that even more I can't install any thing on it (because it's a school laptop DUH!) and it still runs slow. On my mac iv'e installed hundreds of apps and games (steam gaming app) and it still runs smooth. If you like PC I guess its not that bad But from the perspective of a mac user its really bad. the choice is yours!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not that good!

By DJ from Undisclosed on 11/05/2011

My school implemented a new system and we all got this laptop and so far I can tell the laptop has not been working so well doing simple tasks like opening word would cause the computer to lag a lot and the program would not respond. Now I can tell you I am a mac user and for the price this is $100 less than the lowest moddel mac and comparing it to my mac (lowest moddel mac) it does not run that well, to push that even more I can't install any thing on it (because it's a school laptop DUH!) and it still runs slow. On my mac iv'e installed hundreds of apps and games (steam gaming app) and it still runs smooth. If you like PC I guess its not that bad But from the perspective of a mac user its really bad. the choice is yours!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Powerful, Lightweight, Reliable, what's not 2 love

By A2DZ from San Jose, CA on 10/27/2011

I'm a very tech savvy person and have worked with all kinds of laptops from Toshiba, Acer, Asus, HP, Compaq, and Apple. I have to say I'm amazed of how great this Portege is, it's definitely lighter than many of their rivals, and it carries an i5 Sandy Bridge processor, and it's equipped with a large amount of ram and hard drive space.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Powerful, Lightweight, Reliable, what's not 2 love

By A2DZ from San Jose, CA on 10/27/2011

I'm a very tech savvy person and have worked with all kinds of laptops from Toshiba, Acer, Asus, HP, Compaq, and Apple. I have to say I'm amazed of how great this Portege is, it's definitely lighter than many of their rivals, and it carries an i5 Sandy Bridge processor, and it's equipped with a large amount of ram and hard drive space. From Squaretrade Warranty, Toshiba was rank #2 in reliability in laptops with the least malfunctions after three years, with Asus landing at #1. The reason why I prefer Toshiba is because they only make Netbooks/Laptops in the computing world. All the other brands they make laptops/desktops/all in one pcs. Toshiba however, only focuses on portable computing. I've worked with the previous Portege, the R700 /w the i3 processor. The one thing that blew me away was that it's a 3 pound 13.3 inch laptop. The Macbook Air at the time was lighter but it didn't have an i3 processor. This new updated model though was a great find for me. I was looking around for a new laptop for my girlfriend. She asked for a bigger monitor than her netbook, much faster, and something that would last for a long time. The screen seems pretty reflective in high lighted setting, say outdoor in the sun, this may boast as an issue for some. However, 90% of the usage on a laptop for many users out there is indoor. When using this indoor I see no problem whatsoever. It plays very smoothly HD quality videos with no lag. The brightness is very bright as well, I see myself turning the brightness down mostly and could still see just fine. It's bright enough on medium setting and it's LED. The i5 2.4 ghz processor is one of the latest ones for laptop thats just about right for your everyday multitasking job. It also has a turbo boost technology that could crank it up to speed to 3.0 ghz if it needs to under big work overload. This is useful for those gamers out there or those who want to do photoshop. It has 640gb HD. Usually laptops have 250GB or 320GB but this has 640GB!!! That is twice as big as the average laptop HD size! You will not have to worry for a long time regarding laptop space on this laptop. Trust me, if you're not going to be downloading many movies or plan to put 1,000,000 pictures on this thing, you're going to be really happy wit this large amount of space. 6GB of ram, this is what lets you run multiple applications and windows at the same time. 4GB ram seems to be the average of most laptops, so again it goes beyond the standards once again. You can run ten internet windows, watch a movie, and run a webcamming conference and that 6GB of ram will let you run everything just fine without any lag, thanks to that large ram. Only 3.2 pounds. Tats less than a pound more than those really light netbooks out there. Netbooks go for 2.5 pounds, the Portege is at 3.2 pounds, and the Macbook Pro goes for 4.5 pounds. It's very ultraportable and can fit nicely inside your handbag/backpack, it's also very thin as well. This laptop quality is very durable material as well. It's not some cheap plastic material, it's actually well made like a professional. If you didn't know yet, Portege is a business designed laptop. Lastly, with this entire processor, ram, hard drive space, and being ultraportable, how long will the battery last? It says on the standards it should be 9 hours long! That's amazing! I however have heard about tests and from real life tests you'd probably be getting 7 hours of battery life realistically. But the great part is that Toshiba has the ecosaver program equipped that really helps conserve the battery longer and helps you measure how much watts you're using. Overall for the price, this makes a great laptop, and the best part is this just came out quietly this month, October 2011. I plan to update this review as the months go by to see if my girlfriend runs into any problems. But comparing this to my Unibody White Macbook. I think this laptop seems to be much more powerful and faster than mine. It's light weight, powerful with a great processor, up to date on going beyond the standards on RAM and Harddrive space, and long lasting battery life to get you through your day on the go. You won't be disappointed with this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved