Home » Video » SDV296 » 28 Reviews

Toshiba Sdv296 Dvd/vcr, No Tuner, Line In Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 28 reviews)

22% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

worst dvd/vcr combo

By don juan from Norfolk, Va. on 08/09/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The first sd v296 I got lasted a day ate a tape, sent back., The next brand new unit i had less than a week the dvd side froze in reverse., remote would'nt solve the problem. I unpluged it ,opened up the dvd tray EMPTY, very weird, I've used & was an audio tech for years, never seen that before!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

unit works - remote does not

By alison from covington, LA on 07/19/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

the unit worked but the remote is horrible. have to stand on the buttons to make anything work. usually give up and go to the main unit to push play.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good Basic Recorder

By ZipZinzel from El Paso, TX on 04/21/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an advanced user, I have had this unit about 2 years, THIS IS A VERY SOLID BASIC DVD RECORDER. I had 2 different Panasonic DVD Recorders over 3-4 years before that. BASICS= This unit doesn't have any "TUNER" so you can't just hook up basic cable or an antenna feed into it == you hook up the output of cablebox, or DigitalTuner==This should be basic knowledge, While this is a good, overall basic DVD recorder, it is much less utilitarian than the Panasonics (and less costly too).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Never Buy Again

By Unhappy from NJ on 03/07/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought about 2 months ago - eats VHS tapes - clock quit and can't reset - connected to new tv won't play VHS tapes. Set to VCR but plays DVD


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not playback

By Ed from Bedford, Canada on 03/04/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I,m having the same problem as this one"Plays our DVD movies fine BUT I bought this unit to be able to record from the TV. The unit does not work. It may be recording but plays nothing back. This one is going back!!!"


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent product; quick set up

By frosty65 from altoona, PA on 01/08/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was initially worried when I read some reviews, but was later pleasantly surprised at how wrong those negative reviews were. It took me about 10 minutes to set the dvd recorder up and I was recording immediately. Picture quality is great. I'd recommend this product to anyone!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor product

By hsofcats from Oregon on 10/22/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

VCR constantly kicks out tapes for no reason. Blurred picture every time the tape is forwarded or rewound. Picture is blurry, machine shuts off and kicks out the tape I did go out and purchase new tapes to be sure that old tapes. Didn't improve at all. Very loud noises when ever tape stops.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SD-V296KU - Can't Get VCR to Record

By Crusoe1 from Charlotte, NC on 09/05/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I switch to this device to make VCR show recordings for my Mother, who has no cable TV. My very old unit was shot after 20 years and 100's of tapes. This unit appears to record for me, but when I playback, there is no audio or picture. I have a new flat screen and I have followed directions. Don't want to call this a lousy purchase, if it is User error. Anyone have any suggestions for me? Seems like I have spent a lot of time trying all of my TV connection options, of course following the Toshiba manual. Like I said, this unit seems to work, but if I can't get the picture to show or sound...trash city and move on. thanks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba dvd/vcr combo, television

By Dee from Louisville,ky on 08/29/2013

I have or have had the above 2 items and they both worked perfectly, I still use by television and just recently my dvd/vcr combo went out and I am getting ready to order a new one. I also have a blue-ray player by Toshiba. So to me Toshiba is there when you need it and others just don't even get it. Dee


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stopped working in less than a month

By Emma from Rockland County, NY on 07/16/2013

This thing simply would not stay on. It swallowed a VHS tape and then turned off and wouldn't turn back on, ever, no matter what I did. It worked for less than a month.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst ever

By Amanda from Undisclosed on 06/04/2013

Wow I can't even put 6ad in here because it's inappropriate Worked for less than a year and then the DVD player quit working. I don't care if you say that DVD players aren't the best or you should expect that. You should NOT expect a DVD player to quit working before a few years. I've gotten 9 years out of a DVD player used everyday. So that's a terrible excuse. Picture quality wasn't great either for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

piece of junk

By beeker from terrebonne or on 04/24/2013

only played dvds and vhs in color for the first few days. now only black and white with flutter and distortion on screen. owners manual doesn't explain fix.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It works..

By MichaelR1951 from Iowa on 04/21/2013

Elderly person needed something that played VHS tapes and the Toshiba unit did the job. I saw the one review where they dinged the unit because the DVD quit playing ... what did you expect - DVD players are cheap and it's a dying format. This unit did a good job. If you have a thousand VHS tapes and need something to play them on --- this works!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst dvd video player/video cassette recorder

By meme from petersburg,va on 03/06/2013

got for christmas to this day unable to hook up to direct tv box also have a toshiba flat screen tv which is fine.have not been able to use


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Machine needs help!

By Bill from Allentown, PA on 01/24/2013

VCR side works great to play back tapes. DVD side always gives trouble when trying to play DVDs. Picture stops and starts and distorts when playing a DVD. Acts like the disc needs cleaning but the disc is brand new right out of a sealed package! Tried a lens cleaning disk, but it didn't help. Trying to figure my options from here.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

does not work with digital box

By Likes my VCR from Abbotsford, BC on 01/01/2013

I could not find the spot to plug the cable in. What is listed as a coaxial port does not look like one. We have to use a digital box and cannot see how this will be compatible. Back to our old VCR machine which has the coaxial in and out ports. Alas, the DVDs I received for Christmas will remain unopened.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustrating!

By Mo from Canada on 12/16/2012

Can't get DVD or cassette to play in color.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DVD does not work

By MDW from MD on 11/28/2012

Bought for father in law with Alzheimer's. VHS works great, DVD player will not play ANY DVD's. So dissapointed and frustrated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst VCR ever

By mick from media, pa on 10/04/2012

I mioved and i can;t find any instructions as to how to tape a program. You never supplied a manual and i can't get one on line without downloading about 50 pages.On other products i can see the manual and print just the pages i need


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

vcr dvd

By pinkey943 from egg harbor township nj on 09/13/2012

my dvd will play but vcr wont record off tv


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I havea new SDV296KC ...

By Joy from Ontario, Canada on 09/07/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I havea new SDV296KC Combo and could not get it to work with the new 40" LED Toshiba. Had to use a relative"s older model #SDV398KC. Not happy since the store would not take my newly purchased one back. The connections on my two machines are not compatible. HELP!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dreadful DVD Disk Player

By Clever from Framingham, MA on 07/28/2012

I have several dvd/vcr players and other dvd playing machines. Perfectly good disks that work in other machines stop playing or cannot be loaded to play in this machine SD-V296. Manual does not provide any help for this problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By ABC from Philadelphia PA on 05/28/2012

My SD-V296KU stopped playing DVDs about 2 years after I bought it. Manual was useless for trouble shooting. I had to junk it and go looking for a better product - NOT a Toshiba.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value, Hard To Find Combo

By nat from Los Angeles, CA on 05/04/2012

This machine is just as described, a player for both DVDs and VHS tapes. We plugged it in and it worked, period.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SDV39K

By Billybob from Undisclosed on 12/30/2011

DVD locks closed and can't open it. Turning it off and on didn't work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simple

By Recreation Therapist from CA on 12/07/2011

We have been using this product for a couple of years now and it is still in good working order. I would recommend this machine if you have a need to use both DVD and VHS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba DVD Video Player/Video Cassette Recorder

By Presawar from Dallas, Texas on 12/01/2011

The salesman told me I could convert VHS tapes to DVD discs. This machine won't do that. I bought the machine out of town. I guess I'm stuck.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great VCR/DVD player

By quikjr from Lubbock, TX on 12/01/2011

Bought this unit .. took it home .. installed the three cables to red-white-yellow on the new 46 TV I bought (Panasonic). Turned it on. Put both a VCR and a video Disc to see if it worked. Both videos played perfectly. What more could you want??


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Eddie from Atlanta, GA on 11/15/2011

I had a Toshiba DVD VCR combo player that was damaged so I expected this Toshiba to be of similar quality but was terribly disappointed. The picture quality, the ease of use, the functions, everything was disappointing


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst DVD Player for connections

By B from Jones Valley Elementary on 09/02/2011

It will not Display the menu so you can set it up. The Setup button does nothing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved