Home » Accessories » Power Equipment » Ups » General Purpose Ups » OMNIVS1500XL » 14 Reviews

Tripplite Omnivs1500xl 1500va 120v Xl Ups (tripplite Omnivs1500) Reviews
Tripplite Omnivs1500xl 1500va 120v Xl Ups (tripplite Omnivs1500)

Tripplite Omnivs1500xl 1500va 120v Xl Ups (tripplite Omnivs1500)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Tripp Lite's OMNIVS1500XL line interactive UPS system offers voltage regulation, surge suppression and long lasting, expandable battery support for personal computers, internetworking equipment and other sensitive electronics. Internal UPS circuits support entry level PC systems for up to 75 minutes... <more> 

Tripplite Model: OMNIVS1500XL

$266.46

10 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 14 reviews)

78% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Top Notch with Hidden Benefits

By Edward from Undisclosed on 01/14/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Every time we add a new computer, we purchase another Tripp-Lite OMNIVS1500. We are located in Florida and especially during the summer season there are brief interruptions and our Tripp-Lite's have never failed us. Plus, we have found our computers last longer because the constant voltage feature of this model protects the sensitive electronics of our computers from power current fluctuations. And this is the "hidden benefit" that keeps working 24/7.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Over 5 years old now

By Julez from Undisclosed on 11/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my OMNIVS1500XL for over 5 years now. I have two desktops, a router, modem and a monitor all on battery power. I don't need a long duration for it as we have a home generator as well. But this thing just keeps on trucking. I'm writing this review as I had to look up the battery replacement number for the UPS as I've yet to replace the battery and have been meaning to for the past year, just in case. Conditions it stays in are just a home office, but we average a good 7-10 brief 1-2 minute power outages a year easy. The only negatives I can come up with is that the beeping when it switches over to battery is loud (wish there was a way to just mute it as I couldn't care less to know when it switches to battery). And then the fan can kick in and be relatively noisy, but nothing that's unbearable like some have stated. Also TrippLite support is always awesome.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fan is terribly noisy when on battery AND when on line voltage

By LinuxMan from Undisclosed on 10/31/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

New unit just arrived today. I plugged it in and immediately heard fan noise, like a low squeal, as if the bearing was going bad. I left it plugged in for an hour to see if the fan would stabilize and quiet down. It didn't. So, I pulled the plug to shut it down and was horrified to here just how loud the fan gets when running on battery power!! I had no idea this unit even had a cooling fan. I own 4 other UPS units and none of them have fans. This was a major disappointment. I will be forced to return it as it was meant for my desk at work!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a reliable workhorse

By cathyc from Undisclosed on 09/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been purchasing Tripp lite UPS units for about 15 years and I would be hard pressed to say anything bad about their products or their support for that matter. They have made a loyal customer with me. this particular unit has been working flawlessly for about 5 years or more. We also have 4 other various older units in our office. Thank you Tripp Lite!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has worked flawlessly

By Cascadilla from Undisclosed on 09/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has worked perfectly--the few times I have had a power interruption I have had plenty of time to shut down and protect data. My only complaint is the lack of Mac compatibility for the software that monitors the battery.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall a great product

By Valveman11 from Undisclosed on 06/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this UPS for several years, and it has just been fantastic. Power outages are just not something that I worry about anymore when I'm on my computer. Many have complained about the clicking noise coming from the fan. That seems to be a result from how the unit controls the speed of the fan and is not a fault of the unit. As an experienced electronics technician, the solution for me was simple. WARNING: Attempting this fix will void the warranty! I first unplugged and powered down the unit. I simply disassembled it and soldered a small 10uf capacitor across the power wires going to the fan. The click was gone, and I have never had a problem since then.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Dissapointed - do not buy

By Dave in Ohio from Undisclosed on 01/30/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this UPS to replace a several year old ups protecting a small office file server in a quiet office. After a few months of use, noticed a clicking sound coming from the ups - like a fan starting to go bad. Sound was irritating the office staff. I called tech support - the first tech insisted the problem was with our AC power. Had to go get a multimeter to prove to the tech that our AC power was at proper voltage. Then additional troubleshooting (disconnect battery with difficult to access connectors, reset, and reconnect). Finally talked to another tech who agreed to swap out under warranty. Plugged in replacement (refurb?) unit and immediately hear much louder clicking noise. I'll be calling tech support again tomorrow.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Plugged in UPS to hear an annoying fan noise.

By tuckg001 from Undisclosed on 01/26/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Plugged in UPS to hear an annoying fan noise. Now I get to pack it back up and drive to the shipping store.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great for we need it

By indiepay from Undisclosed on 09/24/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had it for over a year works great. I have 4 servers connected to it and couple Cisco routers and works with no problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good UPS for Multiple computers

By SchertzDan from Undisclosed on 09/01/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product was easy to setup for multiple computers and software was easy to use to have one connected by USB but trigger several to shutdown when power fails.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good UPS but software needs improvement

By musicman41 from Undisclosed on 06/26/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This UPS works well, supporting the computer for a significant amount of time. My problem is with the PowerAlert Console software that interfaces with Windows7. The UPS connects via USB, but isn't compliant with Windows7 to be considered a UPS. One must run the PowerAlert software that comes with the UPS. There are a few problems with the software: 1. You must set up the UPS every time you plug the same UPS in a different USB port. The software gets confused between an old installation and the current one (or at least the user does), as the USB will have multiple entries, one for each USB port you ever plugged it into. 2. The software does not report the runtime. 3. When I tested the software once, by unplugging the UPS from power. The computer lasted a long time, but, in the end, the software never sent a shutdown to the system. Thus, the system just stopped without a gentle shutdown. 4. Once shutdown and power is restored, the machine doesn't automatically turn back on. One must physically go push the button, which is hard (impossible) to do remotely. This software has more options than Windows built-in battery utility, but it obviously requires more messing around than I wish to invest in order to get the UPS working correctly. I am in communication with TrippLite Support, which exists and is available, but it is time-consuming.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Time tested proven reliability.

By rmongelluzzo from Undisclosed on 05/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second Omni VS1500 and they have proven to be invaluable when it comes to protection and back-up. Very reliable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a good, solid UPS with several great features.

By bradley01 from Undisclosed on 04/21/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The OMNIVS1500XL has plenty of power for PC applications, even when running a high-end gaming system. Six powered outlets and two surge-protected output cords are ample, and in addition to the usual telephone/network surge filters and the USB controlled shutdown port, there is a variable threshold adjustment to reduce the sensitivity of the unit to power dips and line noise. The real plus, though, is the option to plug in an external battery pack to extend the backup time. All in all, another great product from TRIPP-LITE!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Heavy duty products

By xe3xi2010 from Undisclosed on 12/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In Mexico, the electric current that feeds the small offices and buildings has large variations, especially in coastal regions, where heat is a factor that makes the company transformers deliver a voltage with very high or very low values that supports a computer equipment. In my experience as a electrical consultant, I have observed that Tripp Lite UPS effectively protect electronic equipment connected to them. One of these is the OMNIVS1500XL UPS, strong, good protection, good backup time and easy to change batteries. I've used in many environments protecting local network equipment and wireless network equipment, as well as computers, digital video recorders (DVR) and surveillance cameras, in conjunction with Tripp Lite power strip.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved