Home » Accessories » Power Equipment » Surge Suppressors » ULTRABLOK428 » 35 Reviews

Tripplite Ultrablok-428 2-outlet Isobar Surge Suppressor (ultrablok428) Reviews
Tripplite Ultrablok-428 2-outlet Isobar Surge Suppressor (ultrablok428)

Tripplite Ultrablok-428 2-outlet Isobar Surge Suppressor (ultrablok428)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

For more than 20 years, America's leading companies have trusted Tripp Lite's Isobar Premium surge and noise suppressors to protect sensitive computer, networking and telecom equipment. With more than 15 million satisfied customers, the ISOBAR remains the world's #1 selling premium surge suppressor.... <more> 

Tripplite Model: ULTRABLOK428

$34.04

3 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 35 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Isobar took the hit

By k3kcw from Illinois on 07/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My Isobar Ultrablock-428 did just what it was supposed to do during some foul weather a few weeks ago. Our city power was fluctuating rapidly during heavy rain/lighting and one of the protection elements in the isobar took the hit and protected my TV/cable/vcr. I have used surge suppressors for years and have never seen one "do its job" and have often wondered if they were mostly hype. I can attest now that the Isobar works as advertised and have shown pictures of it to quite a few people. (I took the case off and saw a burned up device.) Thanks for making a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ready for Trouble

By KRM from Undisclosed on 02/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Service to our back-up generator blew the circuit board in our refrigerator, which we didn't know until days later when all food spoiled. After extensive checking online for surge protectors, I bought three Ultrabloks for any future contingencies, one for the fridge, one for the large-screen TV and accessories, and one for the treadmill. TrippLite's warranty is excellent, and we are now ready for any future surge troubles.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exactly what I needed

By cpapjack from Undisclosed on 02/12/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use a cpap machine on a daily basis and needed something to protect the machine. Customer Service Rep recommended the ultrabox. It is perfect - solidly made.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Well-Made Product

By North_Houston from Undisclosed on 02/01/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have recently purchased two of these items and both have been working perfectly. I like the filters and the status LEDs. And I do live in an area that is prone to thunderstorms and power-outages and these items do give me some additional peace of mind.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ultrablok

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 01/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have had this product for almost a year and it has worked perfectly. I would recommend this product very highly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised

By socal_rickstep from Undisclosed on 01/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought two of these, one for a built-in microwave and one for my refrigerator. Both work as advertised and provide peace of mind against power spikes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works well

By Giri from Undisclosed on 10/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have been using it for my treadmill for last 2 yrs.Have had no problems so far


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Protecting our washing machine

By M from Undisclosed on 10/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Solid all metal construction. That's exactly what you should be looking for in a surge protector just if an when lightening does strike close, them at least the flash gets contained in the metal housing. Go search online what happens to surge protectors if they are not made out of metal. Specs in regards to amperage is exactly what we needed for our washing machine, which is now protected by this Ultrablok. We remember the ridiculously expensive insurance that they tried to sell us when we bought the washing machine, so that it might be replaced when lightening ruins it. Now we have a much cheaper solution with the Ultrablok which carries an even higher insurance coverage just in case the washing machine did suffer damage, which I consider unlikely given the solid build quality of the Ultrablok.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quietly protects my microwave

By David from Undisclosed on 10/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this product due to previous positive experience with Tripp-Lite products. The Ultablok was purchased to protect my microwave oven. In the past, we have had electrical storms that took out appliances. When I bought a new microwave, it got its own Ultrablok. We had a long and violent storm last night, and the microwave survived just fine. I don't know if we got hit, but it was reassuring to have the unit in place (along with the warranty).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Low price solution for audio equipment.

By desertpeaks from Undisclosed on 10/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Affordable line conditioning for audio systems. Helps with better low level detail and complete coherency thought the audio spectrum.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Seems to do the job

By gl from Undisclosed on 10/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Not the most elegant of surge protectors but does provide reassurance that it will insulate our washers and dryer from electrical damage. But after all it was for functionality not looks why I bought this product. I was initially concerned it wouldn't work satisfactorily in the outlet in the ceiling (of my basement), but the anchoring screw secured the protector in place.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

simple, works great

By eddie from Undisclosed on 10/01/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We use this to protect expensive, DJ speakers for our company meetings. It's wall-mounted for aesthetics and very portable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not work with Kenmore 15,100 BTU Room Air Conditioner

By the_Prince_Of_Frogs from Undisclosed on 09/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My two Kenmore 15,100 BTU Room Air Conditioners have specifications as follows = Power & Ratings: Amps (Cooling) 12 Cord Length 4 ft. Plug Type Parallel Volts, Ttl. Connected Load 115 Watts (Cooling) 1415 I tried using the two Tripp Lite ULTRABLOK428 Surge Protectors I bought on these air conditioners. I plugged ONLY one air conditioner into each Tripp Lite ULTRABLOK428 Surge Protector. The Tripp Lite ULTRABLOK428 Surge Protector kept shutting my air conditioners down. It is my opinion that the 1800 watt rating on the Tripp Lite ULTRABLOK428 Surge Protector can not handle the surge from the compressor on an air conditioner rated at 1415 watts and 12 Amps.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By Th3B0d from Undisclosed on 01/03/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like how it is about the size of the receptacle and that it protects my equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So easy to use, it is almost idot proof.

By Nuke635 from Undisclosed on 12/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If it were any easier to use it would be made illegal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised.

By Iweed from Undisclosed on 09/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this item about 8-9 months ago. It has worked good at protecting my freezer. Have had several electrical outages and surges, but the device has taken care of each surge.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product for the price

By BobL from Undisclosed on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Read the reviews and that was my choice to buy. Compact enough and durable and with the warranty you cant go wrong. Have other products from the company and they have quality built for a great price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The ultimate protection!

By Rich in Marion, OH from Undisclosed on 09/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our church sanctuary is in a lightning prone area and we've taken several close and direct hits. I use the Ultrablok units to protect our audio and video equipment stations. We recently suffered a strike which took out some other equipment but the TrippLite protected equipment went unscathed! I wouldn't hesitate recommending the TrippLite Ultrablok unit to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product, convenient

By Electronman from Undisclosed on 09/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good product, solidly built. Does what it is supposed to do as far as I know. The only thing negative is the bracket did not fit in the slot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product !

By bbconst10 from Undisclosed on 09/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I keep our two way radio repeater plugged in to this at all times. Good insurance against power problems !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Top Notch Technically

By MisterEd7 from Undisclosed on 09/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an electronic engineer with a good deal of experience in protecting sensitive electronic equipment from transient voltage spikes on the incoming utility line. 1st .. nothing will protect equipment from a direct lightning strike. Fortunately, those are quite rare. But not so rare are transient voltage spikes which can be caused by nearby lightning hits or just by utilities switching circuits and power correction equipment. The entire line of TrippLite surge suppressors do about as good a job as possible in trapping these nuisance surges. TrippLite has not cut corners on the guts of these units. I feel they are amongst the best available. I have them on ALL my sensitive electronics, TVs, ham radio equipment, etc. No problems so far. Highly recommended. (But I also unplug stuff if there is a really "hot" lightning storm passing through).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is one of the best cheapest ways to protect your TV

By Ghenghis73 from Undisclosed on 09/06/2013

If you have a TV that cost you $1000 or more, if you have a washer/dryer set that cost more than $1200, if you have a refrigerator that costs more than $1800 to replace, you can extend the life of it by several years if you have poor electrical power supplied where you live by the electric company: a good test of your need for this, is whether the big capacitor on your airconditioner bubbles up on both sides from power supply variance, and has to be replaced every 2 or 3 years. The power company in Atlanta is this bad and you need this protection if you live here or are provided similar bad quality electricity.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No problems with this product

By Kenny from Undisclosed on 09/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had this Tripplite for a few years hooked up with a 12,000 stereo system no problems at all. I have it plugged in all the time. My system is safe and I trust the Tripplite to protect it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product works perfectly my application

By mustvid from Undisclosed on 09/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased the Ultrabloc to protect my audiophile stereo equipment. I have my integrated amp and DAC plugged in to the surge protector. I leave my equipment on 24/7 and have no concern about a power surge.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Rugged protection

By SEinson from Undisclosed on 09/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our summer home is in an area plagued by storms and lightning during the July/August time frame. We are often resetting circuit breakers at the main panel. Tripp-Lite ULTRABLOK'S have protected delicate electronic equipment thoroughly during these periods.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this product is compact yet powerful

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the product is the right size, but more importantly the power filtering and spike protection are to be praised. It is also is quiet and perfect for tight spaces for any electronic peripheral.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The ultrablok428 zapped my internet radio noise.

By jga32241 from Undisclosed on 06/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had a problem with hisses and pops when I listened to internet radio. My receiver was noise free with hifi system and full noise with another system. CD, turntable were noise free with both systems. So, I researched my options on the net. Most solutions cost hundred of $. The reviews of tripplite products indicated that problems were solved, price was reasonable, and they were well built. I decided to buy the ultrablok428. When I listened to internet radio through the 428 I heard music--the noise was gone. I was so pleased with the product that I ordered two more 428's and the isobar home theater surge suppressor. Tripplite has quality products at reasonable prices.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Handy and reliable as an anvil!

By Bank_CTO from Undisclosed on 04/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ive started purchasing these for our IT Department a dozen at a time. We keep them in-stock and use them whenever were deploying new equipment. Theyre relatively inexpensive and provide exceptional protection.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent product and easy to install.

By crlott from Undisclosed on 12/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A neighbor's house was totally destroyed by fire about a year ago. The insurance investigators determined that the fire was caused by a failed surge suppressor/power strip used to connect the power cord for a television. I asked my son-in-law who is an electrical engineer to study surge surpressors and make a recommendation for me. The TrippLite UltraBlok is the one he recommended, so I purchased four of them to protect each of the TVs in our home. They were delivered promptly and the enclosed installation instructions were easy to follow We feel much safer knowing that our home is protected by a quality product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as advertised

By t3chiman from Undisclosed on 10/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this to protect my washing machine power. One day, I noticed that the Line OK LED was out, and the washer did not work. Changed to an unprotected plug, the washer worked fine. Upon disassembling the Ultrablok, I noted substantial charring of its internal components. Without a schematic, I can't be sure what burned out. But I have to assume that my washing machine was much better off for the ultrablok's protection. Tripplite sent me a new unit when I emailed them about the problem. Lifetime warranty, they said. My nephew is an electrician. He used an Ultrablok to tame a motor start impulse noise problem. So it's not just a protector; it's a noise filter as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid product.

By scottscheurich from Undisclosed on 06/29/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Solid looking and mounts well to the outlet. Just waiting for it to protect. Odd - I bought three of these UltraBloks and yet the serial number is the same for all of them? I am using these to protect refrigerators and washing machines. No sense in a pesky electrical issue damage these expensive to repair/replace appliances!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product!

By ltforce from Undisclosed on 06/12/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I Repair large flat screen tv's. They are very hard to get up and down in some locations. Since useing this product I have had less repairs from power surges and phase loss. And less strian from mounting units back in place. This has been a wonderful product for my customers and kind of a loss of business for me. But I highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The product was pretty versatile

By aebarakos from Undisclosed on 05/07/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I liked that it had more than one plug. I needed it for my washer and dryer and only have one wall socket so this surge protector worked great. The only thing I did not like is that it is pretty bulky and the screw that they give you does not secure it to the wall as tightly as I would like it to be. It kind of wobbles. But other than that it is a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Convenient surge suppressor

By bschwager from Undisclosed on 12/19/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sometimes you don't need a whole surge suppressor strip. These are just right for using anywhere you just need a protected outlet or two. I use it in a convenient place to charge my cell phone and iPod. The quality and features of the ULTRABLOK make it a winner in my book. Same features as the isobar premium surge suppressor strips.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Have not lost any electrical equipment

By Jim Verified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 05/04/2007


Pros:

Rugged, Nice Size, Good Protection

Best Uses:

Office, Computer Equipment, High-end Electronics

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It boasts a lot of protective circuitry for the price. I assume that it's working. I have not lost any equipment due to power surges or lightning strikes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved