Home » BC246T » 9 Reviews

Uniden Bc246t Compact Hand Held Scanner Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 9 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Primary use:

Personal (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

No Problem

By Chris Verified Purchaser from Ossining, New York on 01/06/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first scanner. Im impressed by the BC246 capabilities. I took the easy route and used BCTools and radioreference to program it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great scanner, but not novice friendly.

By FP1201 from Northern New York on 11/09/2008


Pros:

Versatile

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent wide use scanner, however if you're not experienced in programming radios or proficient using manuals you'd better have/buy the software or have someone clone it for you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Highly recommended product.

By ET from Rochester, NY on 08/07/2008


Describe Yourself:

Casual/ Recreational

Pros:

Rugged, Lightweight, Clear Signal

Best Uses:

Emergencies

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Once setup, this product works great, has excellent features, and is great to take anywhere.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent scanner for newbies!

By Inspector Gadget Verified Purchaser from Hartford, CT on 08/28/2007


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Casual/recreational, Casual/ Recreational

Pros:

Rugged, Clear Signal, Easy To Program, Easy To Use

Best Uses:

Emergencies, Families

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great scanner, I had it programmed with all state and local police, fire and other frequencies in minutes using the pc adaptor and radioreference.com data.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"All I can say is ...

By GREGRY Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 10/10/2006

All I can say is AWESOME!!!! 1500+ channel capabilities Double AWESOME!!!! For trunked systems all you have to have is the system frequencies (usually 8 or so) and it automtically searches for all user ID codes and you can lockout the ones you don't want. I'm cheap but I'd encourage you to pay the fee for the software key that allows you to use your computer to program the unit. programming without it is very time consuming if you're in a metropolitan area, but it can be done.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"I've had this scanner ...

By Herald T. Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 06/30/2006

I've had this scanner for one year and still cannot say I'm comfortable with programming it. If you can use the frequencies it comes with from the factory, it will be an excellent scanner for you. If not, it will be very difficult to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"I was looking for a ...

By Ray J Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 05/31/2006

I was looking for a scanner that could help with traffic conditions live from those who are communicating about them, well this one has all the features you could ask for. Police, fire, EMS, GMRS/FRS (those walkie talkies mainly used by families traveling down the highway or at parks) and CB radio. It was helpful the first day I used it. To use all these features plan on spending some time getting to learn how to use it. Yes out of the box it comes pre-programmed for most metropolitan areas, unfortunately none near me. With a few button pushes and a turn of the selector you can start scanning public safety frequencies but you will quickly learn that's not the best way to use this scanner. I was a complete novice to scanners prior to using this scanner, well I've did use them many years ago, like when you had to purchase the crystal for the frequency you wanted to monitor. There have been great improvements since the old days and this one does a great job bringing the latest features to your hand. The sound quality is nice, you can plug in an external speaker or headset, the squelch works just fine. The controls work fine, power on button slightly recessed so you don't accidentally hit it, you quickly learn that "L/O" means lock out or I don't want to hear the noise on that frequency again. I purchased the software from Bearcat, it was o.k. definitely beats using the controls and menus on the unit to program. There's no "Take the frequencies used by these departments and program the scanner" function so you are left to figure out and copy & paste them into the scanner software. I'm still learning, there apparently is other software programs you can purchase from other than Bearcat, I've not purchased or tried them yet. Apparently "Trunking" is now the way many departments are communicating, I'm no expert and to be honest I hardly knew what it was when I purchased the scanner. This scanner does all the Trunking features I need although I'm no expert. Overall I'm very happy with the product, it does what I intended to use it for, hear traffic and other goings on around me from the people with eyes on the scene as I try to get from point a to point b in the normally congested Northern Virginia traffic. You may want to check with the local laws I read it was illegal to have a scanner in your car in New York, which I think is just dumb. Scanners do pick up the cryptic language used by police and EMS so if you just want to put on the music and take in the sights at 17 MPH on a congested highway with a 65MPH speed limit this may not be for you There's the regular traffic reports on AM and now XM too, I just consider the scanner as going the next step, that's just me. It scans marine, air traffic & ham radio too, I didn't use that much. I don't go to NASCAR races so I can't speak to driver/pit communications aspects, watching NASCAR on TV is fine with me. Bottom line it's a great scanner for those who haven't used a scanner in awhile or are new to scanners, it will take some programming to get the best out of it. [...]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"This Uniden scanner ...

By David A Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 12/31/2005

This Uniden scanner seems to be of excellent quality, but is not user friendly to someone not familiar with scanners. I am still trying to figure out how to program this scanner with the frequencies I need, and I consider myself fairly technical. I will figure it out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The BC-246T is an ...

By Thomas C Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 01/10/2005

The BC-246T is an excellant choice but to program it you must purchase the software [...] or else you'll spend Days trying to put in the Groups and Frequencies!! It does come pre- programmed for major cities but if you don't live in a major city (like me)you have to put in yours. There is alot of usefull help groups on the internet for the BC246T which gives alot of info and made my programming experience alot easier!! I think this radio is a Good Buy and I think you would be very happy with your purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved