Home » Dvd » Standard Dvd's » Wizard [dvd] [dol Dig 2.0/eng Sdh/anam Ws/1.85:1] » 37 Reviews

Wizard [dvd] [dol Dig 2.0/eng Sdh/anam Ws/1.85:1] (uni Dist Corp.) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 37 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Awesome!

By BH78 from Maurepas on 12/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very realistic and easy to build! I incredibly feel like in the book!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"...Gandalf the Grey rides to Isengard..."

By bestpilotnthegalaxy from Undisclosed on 11/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This set is a great little rendition of the scene from the Fellowship movie. I picked it up at the Lego store a while back, and there are several things I really like about it. First of all, the two functions built into the throne and base are pretty cool. They allow you to reenact the wizard battle accurately. We see each of these functions in action in the movie at some point. The spinning Palantir stand is simply genius. Also the set itself is very structurally sound. The pieces and minifigures are great too. The only other way to get Saruman thus far is to get the Orthanc Tower set, which is also the only set to feature hatless Gandalf the Grey. Two very important minifigures in such a small set is a big draw. Also the eye of Sauron Palantir is exclusive to this set and is very very awesome. Plus you get the yellow lamps and the black rocket fins. One warning note on the construction: since the pieces are so new, they had some trouble. When I was assembling the lamp posts, the staff pieces inside for support fit extremely tightly into the rocket fin pieces. At a certain point on the staff they simply wouldn't budge. I had to hold them under hot water so I could take them back off. Then I moistened the staffs and put the rocket fins on with no problem. The price is decent as well, considering the features, minifigures, and pieces, and the PPB comes out to 11.5 -- not the best, but it's down there. I would certainly recommend picking this set up before it's retired.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost perfect

By AnotherGnome from Undisclosed on 09/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The set itself is very basic, albeit with a couple of fun play features. The real draw, and a very strong one at that, is the excellent Saruman minifigure and the Eye of Sauron (palantir) piece in an inexpensive set. I personally got two of these sets just to have an extra Eye to use with the Tower of Orthanc, while the Saruman figure is collectible in its own right. The Gandalf figure included is not among my favorites in the Lord of the Rings and Hobbit themes, as it is very common, and the hairpiece and beard do not complement one another very well. As for the set itself, the only real downside is the oversized "light bulbs" on top of the lamp posts. It is a minor gripe, and it would be easy to customize those to a more manageable size if you had suitable parts for it, I just wish they had been smaller. That said, the transparent yellow globes used for the lamps are very nice parts to have as such.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Saruman

By DarthSauron88 from Macon on 08/10/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am back with another review. Let us dive in. Gandalf, This version is exclusive because of no cape, not too exciting. Saruman uses Dooku's head. You can make this version if you have Orthanc (which I own) but still it is nice to get him in a cheap set because they but good figures in expensive sets. Azog should have been in Dol goldur Ambush instead of DG battle. Now onto the set. You get and awesome printed eye of Sauron piece. which is why I bought it. You get two fun functions. So now onto the final verdict. Overall I give this set a B+


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"I was delayed." - Gandalf

By StarWarsLOTR123 from Willoughby Hills on 07/31/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this cool set with Christmas money. It is the cheapest set of the 2013 line. The Wizard Battle is well worth the price even though there are no exclusive minifigures. This scene was awesome and somewhat amusing in the movie and I think Lego portrayed it well. THE MINIFIGURES: Gandalf- He has a double sided face (smiling and angry), long hair and separate beard, cool torso, plain gray legs, and his wizard staff. Saruman- He has the same double sided face as Count Dooku in Duel on Geonosis(straight face and evil smile), the same hair and beard piece as Gandalf the White in Battle at the Black Gate except he has some gray in his beard. He also has a cape, detailed torso, plain white legs and nice detailed wizard staff. THE SET: In this set you get Saruman's sleek black throne which has a convenient slot so that you can sit Saruman down without bending his cape. This set also comes with two nice lamps and the palantir. We get some cool "battle" functions as well. The first function is a little knob on the back of Saruman's throne which knocks Saruman off. This is great except that the knob is tan and the rest of the throne is black. I think it should be black, because it is obvious even from the front. The second and final function is that the palantir stand can spin. This has a double purpose. It can give the illusion that the eye of Sauron is looking around the room or if you place Gandalf on it, it looks like he is being flung in circles by Saruman. Finally, you get some nice stairs. This set is very similar to the Tower of Orthanc throne room in some ways, but is different enough that it is worth 13 dollars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

When did Saruman the Wise become so foolish?

By armadillosandwich from McKinney on 07/17/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So this is a pretty small set that literally takes up to fifteen minutes max to put together, but for what you get in it, it's got good playability. THE THRONE ROOM: Basically all you get in the set besides the figures. It is a very simple build, using mostly flatter pieces to build up a room with stairs on the sides. The room includes a back wall with Saruman's throne (which is much the same as the Emperor's throne room in the Death Star). In front of that is a little bit of walking space on all sides, and in the center is Saruman's glass ball with which he communicates to Sauron. A special glass piece slides over a LEGO head decorated on two sides as the Eye of Sauron. It's a lot of fun to mess around with this, especially if you want to build a mini Mordor tower. This is a set without a lot of details, but it's still got playability, as mentioned. MINIFIGURES: -Gandalf: This version of Gandalf is a bit more rare than his usual self, as he has long gray hair rather than a hat. Otherwise, he's the same with his gray robes, beard, and his staff. -Saruman: A good reason to get this instead of Orthanc if he's all you're after. He has white robes and cape, and a black staff with a white tip. His head is the same as Count Dooku's (a little trivia: this is because Christopher Lee is the actor for both Dooku and Saruman) with a subtle face and an evil face. His white hair/gray beard piece slides over like that of Gandalf the White's. This version of him is actually exclusive, because in the Tower of Orthanc, he has a long brick for a more robe/tunic like appearance instead of legs. OVERALL: This is a lovely thirteen dollar set. The minifigs are great, and so's the throne room for the price. If you're looking for more, find some way to acquire the Tower of Orthanc. But if you can't afford it, go with this, and once you find the Black Gate you'll have enough to have a mini tower to place Gandalf on to be rescued by the eagle. All you'll be missing out on is Treebeard.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really good

By KINGOFTHEDEAD15 from Strafford on 02/11/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this set for Christmas and I was really excited for the Sauramon minifigure and I was not disappointed. The Sauramon play function was very good, just like in the movie, but I was a little disappointed by the Paliantir function and that it only spun and didn't even come with a cloth to cover it. Other than that it was a really good set.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice MOC Figs!

By LegoJakeyLOTR from Oxford on 01/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This set is really cool, not only that it comes with two GREAT minifigures, its that it Comes with 1 exclusive peice and 2 playabilty features! The Saurman looks GREAT in the orc forge!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a great set. The ...

By RobbyJr from Undisclosed on 01/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great set. The spinning floor around the eye and the launching thing in the chair are build seamlessly into the model and are perfect for recreating the scene from the film. The minifigs are nicely detailed and are just right for the characters from the movie. The top of the chair can be knocked off easily, but it's not hard to fix. The lamps may look fragile, but they are quite sturdy and you shouldn't receive much trouble from them. Overall a great buy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Battle Begins!

By Ellis from Madison on 11/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really like this set and the play features that are in this set first you get Saruman and he is my favorite in this set compaired to the other in the Tower of Orthanc set which he come's with a rob like look in that set I like Gandalf bu my main question is why doesn't he have a cape the figure is good espically with his hair piece but I think he needed a cape to make him look alittle better the platform is very cool and I the Palantir with the new very cool Sauron head piece in the globe piece that you can rotate from the back of the set to make the eye inside look like it's looking around I also like the other feature on the chair the pushes Saruman off which is not bad.Overall this a very good little set and also a cheap way to get both wizards and a cheaper way to get the Sauron eye head piece. Also I'm not sure if this set would fit in the new Tower of Orthanc set but I would get this as an add on for that set as well. Overall A very nice little set.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sauron.... He's watching you....

By Plzletmejoin from Dewsbury on 11/14/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Lego Lord Of The Rings Wizard Battle is a great set and it also comes with a brick separator which are quite rare now , also its great you can have endless hours of great fun and it can go well with your other lego lord of the rings or the hobbit sets , well lets get to pros and cons. Pros: New Gandalf Saruman Brick separator Eye of Sauron great playability Cons: Its a bit overpriced Thats all I also want to mention that Its really good to play with as you can throw Saruman and send Gandalf flying. Well thats it soooo byeeeeeeee! ;D


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Problem/error

By jmsmilin from Undisclosed on 11/11/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ours had some type of error I still cant figure out, the white "ball" would not attach to the evil wizards (forget how to spell his name) staff/weapon, so we had to glue. Wondering if anyone else had that issue or am I missing somethign somehow? Would be a 5 star set for value, special peices etc if it were not for this one issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Basic, But Effective

By SkordilWabramop from Undisclosed on 11/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wizard's Battle is a fair set for sure, especially for one of the small LOTR/Hobbit sets. It had a fairly quick build time, but in the end looks good in the theme of LOTR. Wizard's Battle is a convenient and cheap way to get the two major Wizards of Middle Earth, which is a huge buying point for minifig collectors. It would have been nice to see Gandalf have a cape in this set, as he did in Tower Of Orthanc, but I digress. One of the playability issues is with this set is on the throne ejection mechanism. With the new version of the Minifig capes (Where they feel more paper-y as compared to the pure fabric of the 1999-2003) Saruman does not eject as well as he should, and often gets stuck. The other feature in this set for "play" is the spinning Eye Of Sauron, which is a nice added touch. It adds a few more pieces to the set and gives an added feature; not much more to talk about here. Overall this is a decent little set, and is a great one if you are either starting off a LOTR collection or you are looking for both wizards.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hooray Wizard Battle!

By fledermaus from Undisclosed on 10/19/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a really nice set, particularly if you are not planning to purchase the Tower of Orthanc. There is a lot in this set for the price, some rather interesting Lego pieces. The set as a whole is very solidly constructed and will stand-up to energetic play. Positives - Palantir spins using Lego technic gears - Palantir and lamp pieces are pretty neat - Eye of Sauron (a minifigure head) - Saruman with two expressions on the minifigure head - Gandalf the Grey with two expressions on the minifigure head Negatives - Sarumans beard/hair (its one piece) has a somewhat rubbery consistency


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Saruman!

By CloneMarshalCommanderCody from Undisclosed on 09/22/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very nice cheap set. The Pelantir piece is very nice, and both minifigures are cool. I was particularly excited for Saruman, and I like how he has the same head as Count Dooku. Although I don't really use the spinning or pushing features, they do offer playability. Some people have commented that this is a useless set if you are going to buy Orthanc, but I disagree. I fully intend to buy Orthanc, and this only costs $10, so I have no regrets in getting it. The pelantir piece is unique, and it has a few more action features. I think it was very thoughtful of LEGO to make a small, less expensive version of Orthanc and a way to get Saruman.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Little great set

By RedEmmeBrick from Undisclosed on 09/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Though this one is a small set, it has cool aspects that make it funny to play and nice to see. I bought it on holiday and I was able to build it in few minutes in the hotel, which gives an idea of how absolutely easy and fast to build it is. The first thing I immediately appreciated are Gandalf and Saruman minifigures: they both are great and cool to see. In particular Saruman is incredibly accurate to the movie, and with his abundance of details its an excellent minifigure, I really liked it. The whole set is interesting; in addition to being impressive and iconic, it has two funny features: the throne and the Palantir. The first one includes a function that permit to throw forward whatever you put on it ( minifigures supposedly), and the second is a painted red brick which represents the Palantir with the Eye of Sauron, put on a rotating platform that makes it and what is around spin. I enjoyed build every single brick of this cute little set, and considered the low price, its high playability and the great minifigures, I recommande it to every LotR fan.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good $15 set

By golluman20 from new york on 08/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this was a good set for $15 i liked the figures but it's kind of ironic if you waited to get saruman for tower of ornthanc i'll get right on to the pros and cons Pros: 2 good minifigures some cool pieces in the set eye of sauron head cons: little not that much playability you can find updated versions of the palantir and saruman in ornthanc i personally didn't like gandalf's new face that much overall: 7/10


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"We Must Join With Him" Saruman

By TheWraithMage from cambridge on 08/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I Bought this set and i have to say the pictures are deceiving this is actually quite big and the detail on the minifigures is also very good so here are the Pros and Cons Pros: Saruman and his detail Gandalf has hair and a new face the eye spins the chair acts as a a catapult and lamps are very good Cons: Price This set is very good if you don't have enough for orthanc but want saruman and gandalf


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Wizard Battle Finally Arrives!!!

By Knazzer from Cardiff on 08/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a fantastic little set for any Lord of the Rings fan. Sure it's a small set come comes with several cool little features & Lego Pieces. The Saurman figure is a great addition and I found this set can be combined with the Tower if one wishes. I highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Epic Wizard Battle

By superdoogy from Vancouver on 07/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this set because I passed my RCM Music Exam. It is really a wonderful set, representing a very iconic scene from The Fellowship of the Ring. So first I will tell you about the minifigures- Saruman the White- Finally he's here! The long awaited arrival of this minifigure has come to an end, it is an amazing minifig, This particular Saruman has white pants, a nice white outfit with a magician like robes. He has a white cape, which makes it hard to put on his amazing beard. He has a double face, one showing him angry and another one with an evil grin. Unlike the Saruman in the Tower of Orthanc set, this one has movable legs, not a robe like one like the other one. 5/5 Gandalf the Grey- This Gandalf is similar to all the other ones, except for two differences. First off, instead of wearing a hat, it is shown that he has long grey hair(it keeps on following off for me), he also doesn't wear cape. He is pretty cool 4/5 The set is also great, with two special features, one where you can rotate the Palantir using a mechanism on the back of the throne, another one where you can push off one of the minifigures on the throne using a pushing thing that you too operate at the back of the throne. The Eye of Sauron is a really cool feature, I practically bought the set because of it. The two lanterns on the sides of the throne are really nice, you can detach the yellow bulb and the circle piece supporting it to make it look like rockets(fire Saruman to the moon!). Overrall, this is a really nice set, I would defeintely suggest buying it, the price isn't that big, so you really should buy it before it becomes retired or is Sold Out forever. It is a real sturdy set, can't break even if you smash a rock on it (I've tried). Overall- 5/5 Thank you for reading my review! ~~~~superdoogy away!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We must join with Sauron

By Teebo1000 from Leeds on 07/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For such a small set at 11.99, the Wizard Battle has two great features to re-enact the duel between Gandalf and Saruman. Now onto the minifigures. Gandalf the Grey: This time Gandalf comes without his hat and cloak so instead he has a long grey hairpiece and has the smae headpiece that comes with the figure in set 10237: The Tower of Orthanc. The head has a happy face and one that is yelling. His accessory is his staff. Saruman the White: Saruman is an awesome figure and also quite rare as he only appears in this set and Orthanc. His staff is made up of three bricks and he doesn't have a kirtle outfit in this set. I also love his beard design and I think Lego did a good job on that. His face is also double sided with a normal face and an evil smile. Now onto the set itself. At the front of the throne room is the Palantir with a brand new design print showing the Eye of Sauron. This is a play feature which is put into motion when a brick at the back of the set is turned. It enables the Palantir stand to rotate. In the middle there are small steps leading up to the throne room and next to that are two lamps which are also included in Orthanc. Another play feature is on Saruman's throne which is a pole which can be pushed to knock Saruman off his throne. The throne is detailed and realistic to its counterpart in the Fellowship of the Ring movie. Overall this is an awesome set Gandalf the Grey: 10/10 Saruman the White: 10/10 Pros: Everything, no stickers Cons: None


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Wizard Battle

By SuperK from Silverhill on 07/22/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this set recently, and I have not stopped from going around with Saruman in my pocket and played with this set over and over. I recreated some scenes from the movie, such as "We will fight- for Saruman!" Let's start with the actual build. The Throne Room Palantir/Pedestal- Includes spinning function, which looks as if the Eye of Sauron is glancing around the room. Also, you can set Gandalf on it and make him spin around, as if Saruman is throwing him around with his Wizard's staff. The Eye piece is a great piece, and I have seen several great models using it. Lamps/Stairs- The lamps have a good collection of pieces. The yellow bulb pieces are awesome, and I like how LEGO used rocket pieces to make the lamp slope. The stairs are useful, and I have not seen many LEGO stairs before. Throne- The Throne has a nice selection of slopes in black, some black cones, and a smooth 2x2 tile, in guess what- black. All together, a pretty evil-looking throne. Minifigures Saruman- LEGO did a shocking piece of work on this figure. His legs are completely white, but the chestpiece is so detailed that you can even see the little silver linings on the robes- just like the movie. The white cape is a nice touch, and the three-tone beard is awesome. The head is the same as the 2013 Count Dukoo head, but he has an alt face as well as his serious face. The alt makes him look really angry, which I only remember happening when Gandalf fought Theoden/Saruman. Great figure, and his staff is well thought out. Gandalf- Gandalf is almost exactly like the 2012 figure, except with a few diffs. First, he has no cape. Second, he has a hairpiece and not a hat. Third, he now has a double sided face; one side is a angry, bellowing face while the other is just a smiling, happy face. Verdict: Buy it. It has two almost entirely exclusive figures, and a good choice of pieces. Thanks for reading this review, it's fun to review these sets. -JAH


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"You have elected the way of.......PAIN!"

By silver5575 from new jersey on 07/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The wizard battle set was GREAT. You really should but this set you get Sauroman and gandalf with the eye of sauron (small version) and the throne is so cool Pros: Sauroman looks great one of the best mini figs ever great detail Great 12 dollar mini set Throne has great detail and so does the lamps No stickers :) Gandalf looks the same as always Cons: None Now stop reading this get this set it is worth every penny and you will have lots of fun with it play well. :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I purchased this set ...

By sheila1337 from Undisclosed on 07/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this set today and overall have loved it. I am having trouble keeping the small white staff topper in place but I have had no other issues. It is an adorable set and the movable features are neat. Completely recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This was the coolest most ...

By PEXANDCHIPS from Undisclosed on 07/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was the coolest most function-packed "little" LEGO set ever! I could sit and spin Gandalf around all day. Provided you make sure to take away his staff, he spins really well. The Saruman push doesn't work as well though, mainly because of his cloak, which you can take off. The lamps look awesome as well. On to the minifigures. Saruman has an amazing beard. It has several different shades and looks very cool. His staff is also awesome, though the white thing doesn't stay in as well as I'd have hoped. Gandalf is basically the same as all other Gandalfs except he has no cloak and hair instead of a hat. Overall, this set was great. If you're unsure of whether to buy it, just buy it, because not only is it cheap, it's a lot better than you'd expect. (Don't buy it if you want it because of the throne). One other thing is you might not want to buy it if you have or might buy The Tower of Orthanc because it is almost exactly the same as the throne room in that set (although the spinning function isn't in the Tower of Orthanc. This is the kind of set you should definitely buy, because you'll like it, and even if you don't like it, it's cheap. and so won't matter as much as other sets.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

saurmon!

By LegoMaster43 from Undisclosed on 07/14/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wizard battle is a fun set. It has many functions like the spells in the movie. Now for the pros and cons: Pros -Exclusive Saurmon -Many functions -Eye of Sauron minifig head Cons -OK playability -There are no more cons!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Design

By DawsRouns from Undisclosed on 07/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is great for your money. If you are looking for a good small set this is the one you need to get. The figures are amazing,Very detailed,and realistic. It comes with Saruman the white and Gandalf the grey. The features are amazing and the set comes with a lot of unique pieces. I highly recommend it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Its worth your money

By jonnyrock6363 from Manassas on 07/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

hey you people i think this a very awesome set good play features the two minifigures looks so good and you get sauron and if you can't get the tower of orthac GET THIS SET! thanks for reading my review good bye


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

We Must Join With Him Gandalf

By TheLegoCat from Undisclosed on 07/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great set for being 113 pieces. It has two minifigures and yes, The Eye of Sauron. Here are the minifigures. Saruman the White: Great printing, comes with a 3 toned beard, white cape, double sided face and a 3 piece staff that you build. And he does not have the robe piece like you get for Saruman in the Tower of Orthanc (which I have reviewed). Gandalf the Grey: Nice printing, grey legs, chest, hair, and beard, has a double sided face and a brown staff. Now the set is a nice size for 113 pieces, it has two lamps, a throne and the Palantir and in this version it is the Eye of Sauron. It is like a regular head so if you want to you could have that be someones head. There are two main features, one is to throw Saruman out of his throne like Gandalf does at the beginning of their battle in the Fellowship of the Ring, and the other feature is to spin Gandalf around like at the end of the battle. This set is a very cool set, but if you are getting the Tower of Orthanc and you don't care about getting the Eye of Sauron piece then don't get this set. But I do have the Tower of Orthanc and if you put this version of the Palantir above the light brick in the Tower of Orthanc it looks very cool as well (light brick not included in this set). So my overall rating on this set is a 7 out of 10. That concludes the Wizard Battle review, also check out my other LEGO Lord of the Rings\ The Hobbit reviews, thanks for reading :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wizard Phwoar

By CzechMate1 from Sydney on 06/30/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wizard Battle. $23 bucks. Two decent figs, and not bad little set, but not too intersting, the main feature is nice, but this set isn't much. -CM1


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Saruman's Staff!!

By DrewBert32 from Bismarck on 06/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I think this set is overall good except for.....Saurman!! The minifigure itself is very well done except for his staff. It's that little white bulb at the top and it's always falling of for me. But to be fair, Gandalf is very nice and so is the planitr. Overall I like this set, not the best but definitely not the worst


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good minifigs and parts

By stevesheriw from Fort Worth on 06/26/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This set is the smallest of the new LOTR sets, but has some desirable elements included. Gandalf and Saruman are the two minifigures included. Gandalf is presented with hair instead of his hat. Otherwise, he is basically the same as in prior sets. Saruman comes with a white cape, a rubbery beard and hair piece combined into one, and a nice design for his wizard staff. The build is quick and easy. It includes a platform with a throne, two lamps, and a palantir setup. The throne has a nice feature which can eject anyone sitting in it. The palantir has a spinning function, and has enough room to place a minifig so it can spin along with the globe. The value of the set seems good with the two figures as well as some nice pieces. The globe pieces are more uncommon, and you get a unique Eye of Sauron piece that fits inside the globe to complete the palantir. As of this review, this is the only set where you can get this piece. Even the large Orthanc set does not have it. Therefore, if you are planning on buying the larger set, you may still want to get the set to acquire the eye. I plan on switching palantirs with the larger set (once I get it). It would be interesting to see what that Eye piece looks like with a light brick under it. The set is affordable enough that even a casual fan of the trilogy would enjoy the setup and play features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EPIC Wizard Battle!

By LOTRNerd from Toronto on 06/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this set the day it came out- and I absolutely love it! The mini figures are awesome, especially Saruman with the 3-toned beard and printing. I also loved Gandalf with hair- definitely a better version of him. The set itself was great value for the price. The Palantir with the Eye of Sauron is very cool, and the features included are very accurate to the movie. The set also features some unique pieces such as the yellow globes, which is great to have in any LEGO collection. I would definitely buy this set- WELL worth the money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the characters, the story, the build

By ramboralph from Austin on 06/02/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Short quick build with an action twist or two. I did it with my new kittens "helping" me. Did not take long. For small sets, usual problem is where to put the scene amongst my dominantly Star Wars world.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good

By thelotrboss from lehi on 06/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a awesome set but if you get orthanc then it is point less so if you dont want to spend $200 then get this and your set great set if you dont get orthanc


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exciting new set from my favourite theme!

By Mithradir from Vancouver on 06/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As with all of the LEGO sets based in middle earth, I was genuinely looking forward to owning this set! Saruman is particularly great, with fantastic details including his hair/beard piece. I enjoy the play features designed into this build. Looking forward to picking up Battle at the Black Gate next!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing set

By legosrawesome from Undisclosed on 05/31/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a really awesome small set. It also comes with the new Sauromon minifigure. The palantir is really cool, but it doesn't light up like in the tower of orthanc set which will come out soon. the play features are really good, and accurate to the movie this is the best small set i have ever seen


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved