Home » 284065 » 25 Reviews

Wagner Spray Tech Corp 284065 Wagner Deckmate Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 25 reviews)

58% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Love this product! It is very easy to use and clean up.

By misirish from Iowa on 07/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used this product on my almost 200 sq ft deck. I had never stained a deck before and had always used clear sealer. This tool made it so easy. I felt like a pro. The stain does come out very quickly but I learned to open the valve get some stain out and quickly close it again. Then I spread out the stain and it went on very smoothly and without lap marks. It would be a great improvement to have a control on the open and close valve so that you can control the speed at which the stain is dispensed. I used a little over half a gallon of stain. I will use this product over and over again. I loved it and the deck looks GREAT!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product, easy to use

By Laurie from Newark, OH, USA on 06/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was a very easy way to do our deck, worked fabulous, and very easy to clean. I will use again and again and again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth the time or money

By Doug22 from Iowa on 06/03/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product does not work. The stain feeds too slowly. The middle brush does not work. It was a complete waste of time and money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Useless

By a1stiffler from Undisclosed on 04/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a useless gimmick of a tool. Brushing it out is the only way to finish a deck without the product failing.This gimmick could be used to get the stain onto the wood but you have penetrate the stain into the wood by brushing with a good brush. But if you don't prep the deck properly it doesn't matter what you use, anything will fail within a year. The way to properly do it is to sand the deck, pressure washing can damage the wood and when your done pressure washing you'll have to sand anyways. It also depends on the stain you're using. Buying inexpensive stain could lead to more work down the road. Do it right the first time and you won't be disappointed. Do it wrong the first time and you'll be paying for it year in and year out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product!

By Barb from Bloomington, IN on 10/11/2013


Pros:

Easy To Clean, Easy To Use

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We put the first coat on the deck in the spring with a roller and it took all day and broke our backs. Saw the Deckmate and thought we would try it - it is fabulous. Took about 1/2 an hour to do the largest portion of the deck - used about 1/2 of the gallon. Easy to use, easy to clean up - we would highly recommend this product!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best thing I have ever bought!!

By Blackie from Gold Coast QLD, Australia on 08/24/2013


Pros:

Everything

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Recommend this applicator to anyone. Saves time and effort, minimal mess to clean, no back injuries. THe best part is the amount of stain used. I rejuvenated my deck which is dark colour ebony with 2 coats and used half the stain I did originally using brushes and regular pad applicators. So easy to use. If it starts to pool just turn the flow off and spread out the excess evenly. This is my first (and probably last) product review.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Pman28 from Candor, NY 13743, USA on 07/22/2013


Pros:

Quick And Even.

Cons:

You Need A Little Practice Adjusting The Flow

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was very pleased with this product. Yes you will have to use a brush at the ends of th boards. This is a minimal effort and you have saved so much time and bending you really won't care.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works as designed, quick, easy, very little mess

By MisterMitch from North Sydney, NS, Canada on 06/20/2013


Pros:

It Saved My Back, Paint In A Forward Motion You See Where To Go, Paint Flow Easy To Control, Nice Even Coat

Cons:

Small Filler Hole But That's My Problem

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Hi folks, OK, so I am no professional. I got a bad back, and I am REALLY lazy when it comes to doing yard work. Anything that is going to make my job easier, I am in for that 105%. (Kinda funny when you read that I am lazy) I used semi-transparent stain. Which, after stirring, I made a mess and got it all over the place trying to pour it in the hole. No worries, I spilt it on the deck and the deck has to be stained. I quickly learnt, DO NOT APPLY moving backwards. It leaves gobs of stain. I did 4 boards wide at a time, moving FORWARDS. I did 1/2 of a 30 x 12 foot deck in about 20 minutes with about 1/2 the can of stain. This was the amount I predicted I would use. Years ago, I did it with a pan and roller. Yes, there was stain on the deck, but because of spray from the roller, there was stain other places as well. (Side of the house, Mrs wasn't impressed) Tomorrow, I gotta move the chairs to the other side of the deck to do the other 1/2. Oh yea, the cute little "hairs" to paint between the boards. You could loose them and I would still highly recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk!

By Lisa2 from Trinity, TX on 06/13/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I stain decks for a living and am always willing to try a new product. Bought the Deckmate and it was a total waste of time and money. been doing this for 12 years and after many trials and errors I suggest to save your money on gadgets and buy a good paint or stain brush.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Made our deck staining so much easier.

By Thehuds from Bloomington, IN on 07/13/2012


Pros:

Easy To Clean Up, No Crawling For The Grooves, Easy To Fill, Easy To Spread

Cons:

Groove Brushes Too Soft

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We recently restained our 600 sq ft deck with the Deck Mate, and it was so much easier than any other processes we've used in the last 10 years. It worked wonderfully except the "groove brushes" (a great idea) were not tough enough. They were worn out totally when the 2nd coat was finished. Thanks for a great product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love it

By Masvette from orient ohio on 07/09/2012


Pros:

Easy & Effective

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought it over five years ago thinking I'd use it that summer. Found it in the garage still in the box with the receipt taped to it. Pulled it out tonight and put it to work on a 26 x 26 foot deck that was very thirsty. Had 1/3 of it done in less than an hour with solid stain. I love it, fast work of a job I wasn't looking forward to doing and not messy at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Piece of junk

By Joe41 from Michigan, USA on 06/28/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Could not control the flow. And yes I assembled it right and followed the directions and watched you tube videos. So Wagner, don't try and give me excuses for it. The brush that is suppose to get between the boards is not effective. Barely worked at all. Because of the flow problem I ended up with blotches and drips. What was suppose to save me 2/3 the time cost me triple the time cuz I ended up doing the old fashion way. Paint brush and elbow grease. WASTE OF MONEY!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would have never bought this but....

By skit from Ohio, USA on 06/13/2012


Pros:

Only Gadget I Have Seen Do Exactly What It Says

Cons:

Lowes Does Not Carry This Product, Finding New Pads

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was working for a lady who bought this and when she gave it to me to use i thought oh my here we go. these gimmicks never work like they say they are going to. I to had some flow problems at first but with a little patients and adjusting of the flow knob this turned out to be the best tool i have ever used for doing a deck. some tips from what i learned are when you are starting at a wall or come to one turn the flat end to the wall push down firm and pull it out , when the board goes off into nothing start the flat end barley hanging of the end of the board and come in. find a good flow and stay working at that pace either fast or slow. i have cleaned my deckmate 3 times (very easy) and still could use the pad but it is worn pretty good


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good idea, does not work.

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 06/09/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased the Deck Mate because i am disabled and thought it would make staining my deck eaiser. It is a good idea only if it worked as described. The first half of my deck i had to do very quickly because no matter what i did, the stain would not stop coming out. After resting for a couple of hours, i decided to give it another try. Bad idea. The stain just poured out no matter what i did. One half gallon of stain to do six boards. I paid the neighbor boy to finish it with a brush. Hopefully i can return this as defective.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to use.

By pkup from Taylorville, IL, USA on 06/07/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product saved me so much time. I was told to use a sprayer on the deck, then brush excess off. When I saw this product, I asked the salesperson if I needed to brush excess stain off, he said if you use the right amount, It will be all you need to finish the job. Got home, filled it with water repellant solution and in about an hour, I had finished a 16X20 deck. I went back and smoothed some areas where I had opened the valve to much but it was easy to control after I got the hang of it. Great product///


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By RD10 from New Jersey on 06/03/2012


Pros:

Pad Swivels, Easy Assembly, Great Value, Easy To Use, A Bumper Guide On Pad, Easy Clean Up

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was an excellent purchase: The value and the functionality can't be beat. I was able to stain my deck quickly and evenly. The one problem I had (MY FAULT))was the pad would come off if I hit a rough spot on the deck, so make sure you have a smooth surface. Thanks Wagner!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked great on my deck

By Stevewa1 from Bellevue, WA, USA on 05/14/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I used the Deck Mate to apply semi-transparent premium stain on a cedar deck. It made the job much easier than before and it looks great. The brush worked well to get the stain between the deck boards and it was convenient to have the stain in the handle of the device. No dipping in paint trays and nothing to knock over. I was careful to follow directions when I assembled the product and I'm wondering if the other reviewers did the same. I had no trouble getting the stain to flow. The trick is to just open the control knob a tiny bit at a time. It takes a moment for the stain to reach the pad so be patient and don't keep turning it or it will flow out too fast. If you start to see puddles then just back it off and gently go back over them. No problem. Mine didn't clog at all but I didn't let it sit for too long either. The cap was leaking a tiny bit and I did have to touch up edges around posts with a brush but overall a good experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hey Wagner - your product doesn't work.

By barjbar from Novi, MI, USA on 05/07/2012

Worked fine first fill. As soon as I refilled the reservoir, the stain wouldn't flow so I used my deck sprayer and followed with the Deck Mate pad to spread the stain evenly. That way worked great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not use

By Alex007 from Springfield, MO on 04/25/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought to finish the horizontal surface and stairs of my deck. Unit started leaking stain all over as I was finishing. The on/off switch stopped working also.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not recommended

By richieg999 from Undisclosed on 04/20/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the DeckMate product to stain my deck. unfortunately, the product did not perform as expected, not even close. I couldn't get enough stain to come out and the little brushes did nothing to get in between the boards, even once I got it flowing a little better. It took me 3 hours to stain about 50 sq ft. I finished the job with a 4" paint brush in 4 hours (250 sq ft) with much better results.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst product ever

By Timus from Powder Springs, GA, USA on 04/11/2012


Pros:

Easy

Cons:

Splotchy With Semi Trans Stain

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

it's as easy as you'd expect but the results are terrible. I used a semi-transparent stain and the results were splotchy and uneven. I guess the only good thing about staining your deck nearly every year is that I was able to re-stain with a 4" brush the following year to make the deck look better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great product

By ronf from garfield, arkansas 72732 on 11/11/2011


Cons:

Hard Time Finding Pads

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a great product, easy to use. you are able to apply as much or as little deck stain as necessary by a flick of the wrist. the brush applies stain between boards. i would recccommend this product highly


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks easy but results are less than satisfactory

By DavidMinnesota from Twin Cities, Minnesota on 09/26/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just finished a 10 x 12 deck. For me, the flow control was the problem, even with the lowest setting the stain flowed out way too much. I had to turn it off and spread out the stain before turning it back on again. I used Cabot's Semi-Solid stain so the stain is not too thin. It also did not put stain between the boards very well, you would think with the increased stain flow there would be enough stain to cover in-between the boards. Next time I will use what the stain dealer recommended....a good brush with a handle that allows a broom handle to be screwed into it. Dip the brush into the stain can and apply with the brush as if sweeping the floor. This would have also allowed me to put a heavy deposit where I needed a heavy deposit and a regular coat in other areas. But I can understand with a very large deck this would be a lot of work. I also had trouble with the Deck Mate getting under the railing area, I had to go back the next day and hand brush those areas. Since I recently had a back injury I thought the Deck Mate was going to be the ticket for this job but the results are less than satisfactory in my opinion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I do not recommend this product.

By xdeckmate from Fort Wayne, Ind on 09/25/2011


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The pads only lasted about 6 feet, the delivery system for the stain was too light, I had a 40'X8' deck plus steps all around and ended up using a paint brush. Why this product has cleaning instructions I'll never know, it ended up in the trash.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great tool for the job

By Dart63 from El Paso, IL on 09/06/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just finished a large project to power wash and stain a multi level deck and gazebo. The last step in project was the staining of 1230 sq feet of deck floors, runways and steps. I saw the Deck Mate advertised on TV and thought I would give it a try. In the past I have used a roller for this step in the process, but have been concerned about amount of stain rollers leave on the surfaces. I tried the Deck Mate and was very happy with the results. The ability to regulate the flow of stain to the pad meant I used only what was needed and didn't leave pools of stain I had to worry about. That also allowed me to conserve stain and reduce costs. This is a great product! Plus, it cleaned very easily and is ready for my next project.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved